NEW BOOKS FOR 12+ IN MAY

« Back

The Island at the End of Everything, by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, published by Chickenhouse
The new novel from the author of The Girl of Ink & Stars, winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2017. Amihan lives on Culion Island, where some of the inhabitants – including her mother – have leprosy. Ami loves her home – with its blue seas and lush forests, Culion is all she has ever known. But the arrival of malicious government official Mr Zamora changes her world forever: islanders untouched by sickness are forced to leave. Banished across the sea, she’s desperate to return, and finds a strange and fragile hope in a colony of butterflies. Can they lead her home before it’s too late?

Click here to read an extract, and here to win a copy (closing date 19/05/17).

ReleaseRelease, by Patrick Ness, published by Walker Books (Suitable for 16+)
The most personal and tender novel yet from Patrick Ness, the twice Carnegie Medal-winning author of A Monster Calls. It’s Saturday, it’s summer and, although he doesn’t know it yet, everything in Adam Thorn’s life is going to fall apart. But maybe, just maybe, he’ll find freedom from the release. Time is running out though, because way across town, a ghost has risen from the lake . . .This uplifting coming-of-age novel will remind you what it’s like to fall in love.

To read the first chapter, please click here

Noah Can’t Even, by Simon James Green, published by Scholastic Noah Can't Even
Poor Noah Grimes! His father disappeared years ago, his mother’s Beyoncé tribute act is an unacceptable embarrassment, and his beloved gran is no longer herself. He only has one friend, Harry, and school is… Well, it’s pure hell. Why can’t Noah be normal, like everyone else at school? Maybe if he struck up a romantic relationship with someone – maybe Sophie, who is perfect and lovely – he’d be seen in a different light? But Noah’s plans are derailed when Harry kisses him at a party. That’s when things go from bad to utter chaos.

GirlhoodGirlhood, by Cat Clarke, published by Quercus Children’s Books
Harper has tried to forget the past and fit in at expensive boarding school Duncraggan Academy. Her new group of friends are tight; the kind of girls who Harper knows have her back. But Harper can’t escape the guilt of her twin sister’s Jenna’s death, and her own part in it – and she knows noone else will ever really understand.

But new girl Kirsty seems to get Harper in ways she never expected. She has lost a sister too. Harper finally feels secure. She finally feels . . . loved. As if she can grow beyond the person she was when Jenna died.

Then Kirsty’s behaviour becomes more erratic. Why is her life a perfect mirror of Harper’s? And why is she so obsessed with Harper’s lost sister? Soon, Harper’s closeness with Kirsty begins to threaten her other relationships, and her own sense of identity.

How can Harper get back to the person she wants to be, and to the girls who mean the most to her?

A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief.

Windfall, by Jennifer E. Smith, published by Macmillan Windfall
Alice doesn’t believe in luck, Alice believes in love. Mostly that she’s been in love with her best friend, Teddy, for the last three years. When she buys him a lottery ticket for his birthday and he wins 32 million dollars, they are thrown together with the world at their feet. Teddy decides that he will spend his money committing random acts of kindness, and who better to go on that adventure with him than Alice? In the process they get to know themselves and each other better than they ever have before, but money can’t buy you love . .

I Have No SecretsI Have No Secrets, by Penny Joelson, published by Egmont
Fourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change…

A page-turning thriller seen through the young adult readers. Perfect for fans of Wonder, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Looking for JJ.

Encounters, by Jason Wallace, published by Andersen Press LR-RGB-Encounters
Inspired by remarkable true events, this is the long-awaited new novel from the author of Out of Shadows, winner of the Costa, Branford Boase and UKLA awards.

Over fifty pupils at a quiet suburban school in Zimbabwe are claiming to have witnessed a spaceship land beyond the edge of their school playground. It’s probably nothing more than a case of mass hysteria, but there’s something about these reports that’s impossible to ignore: the children all tell the same story, over and over. And the pictures they draw are identical, right down to the creature with the big eyes emerging through the trees. How could so many kids lie so convincingly and for so long? In amongst these incredible events, six young people’s lives are changed for ever, and they discover they are for more connected to something out there – and each other – than they could have ever thought possible.

Click here to win a copy of Encounters (closing date 31.05.17)..

COUNTLESS FINALCountless, by Karen Gregory, published by Bloomsbury
‘Is there anything that’s concerning you?’ Felicity says. ‘College, home, boyfriends?’ Though she’s more or less smiling at this last one.

I don’t smile. Instead, I feel my face go hot. Silence stretches as wide as an ocean.

When I look up, Felicity has this expression on her face like she’s just seen Elvis. Slowly, she leans forward and in a gentle voice I’ve never heard her use before she says, ‘Have you done a pregnancy test?’

When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn’t believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don’t add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She’s even given her eating disorder a name – Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time …

Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory’s debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can’t be counted. Perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson, Non Pratt and Sarah Crossan.

Karen GregoryKaren Gregory has been a confirmed bookhead since early childhood. She wrote her first story about Bantra the mouse aged twelve, then put away the word processor until her first child was born, when she was overtaken by the urge to write. A graduate of Somerville College, Oxford, and a project coordinator by day, she’s become adept at writing around the edges. Strong coffee and a healthy disregard for housework help. Karen lives in Wiltshire with her family. Countless is her first novel.

Click here to read an extract of Countless, and here to win a copy in a YA bundle.

The Way Back Home, by Allan Stratton, published by Andersen Press The Way Back Home
An emotional story about family bonds and being true to yourself from the ward-winning author of The Dogs and Chanda’s Secrets.

Zoe Bird is going nowhere fast. She’s angry and lonely, and her only true friend is her granny, whose Alzheimer’s is worsening. When her parents put Granny in a home, Zoe decides now is the time to break free. She smuggles Granny out and together they hit the tracks on a cross-country trip to find Zoe’s long-lost uncle. But there will be some home truths along the way. . .

Allan Stratton is based in Canada, but is available for Skype author visits for schools and book clubs in the UK. If you are interested, please contact Andersen Press on the email address below.

Click here to win a copy of The Way Back Home (closing date 31.05.17)

Crazy House HBCrazy House, by James Patterson, published by Arrow
There were no charges. There was no trial. There will be no escape.

Seventeen-year-old Becca Greenfield was snatched from her small hometown. She was thrown into a maximum-security prison and put on Death Row with other kids her age. Until her execution, Becca’s told to fit in and shut her mouth… but Becca’s never been very good at either. Her sister Cassie was always the perfect twin.

Becca’s only hope is that her twin sister will find her. That perfect little priss Cassie will stop following the rules and start breaking them, before it’s too late. Because her jailers made a mistake that could get them both killed:

They took the wrong twin.

Click here to win a copy of Crazy House (closing date 31.05.17).

The Girl In Between, by Sarah Carroll, published by Simon & Schuster The Girl In Between
I know the mill has a story cos there’s something strange going on. I heard something. I’ve decided that I’m going to find out what it is later today when Ma leaves. Cos even if it is scary, we live here and we’re never leaving. So if there’s something going on, I need to know.

In an old, abandoned mill, a girl and her ma take shelter from their memories of life on the streets. To the girl it’s home, her safe place, the Castle. But as her ma spins out of control and the Authorities move ever closer, the girl finds herself trapped – stuck in the crumbling mill with only the ghosts of the past for company.

Can she move on before it’s too late?

The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo Book 2), by Rick Riordan, published by Puffin
The god Apollo, cast down to earth and trapped in the form of a gawky teenage boy as punishment, must set off on the second of his harrowing (and hilarious) trials. He and his companions seek the ancient oracles – restoring them is the only way for Apollo to reclaim his place on Mount Olympus – but this is easier said than done. Somewhere in the American Midwest is a haunted cave that may hold answers for Apollo in his quest to become a god again . . . if it doesn’t kill him or drive him insane first. Standing in Apollo’s way is the second member of the evil Triumvirate – a Roman emperor whose love of bloodshed and spectacle makes even Nero look tame. To survive the encounter, Apollo will need the help of a now-mortal goddess, a bronze dragon, and some familiar demigod faces from Camp Half-Blood. With them by his side, can Apollo face down the greatest challenge of his four thousand years of existence?

Check out the teacher resources, and watch the trailer:

Young Bond: Red Nemesis, by Steve Cole, published by Red Fox 
BEFORE THE MAN BECAME THE LEGEND. BEFORE THE BOY BECAME THE MAN.

James is back in Steve Cole’s fourth and final blistering Young Bond adventure . . . James is on home soil when he receives a package with a message from beyond the grave. The package’s mysterious contents put James at the heart of a long-running plot that, if it runs its course, will paint London’s streets red with blood. Not only will James have to fight to stay alive and save the country he loves, but to clear the Bond family name, which he holds so dear. The stakes couldn’t be higher, and James doesn’t know who he can trust . . .

Watch the trailer:

#WorldBookDay