NEW BOOKS FOR 0-5 IN JUNE

« Back

What The Ladybird Heard on Holiday, by Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks, published by Macmillan

Those two bad men, Lanky Len and Hefty Hugh, are back! They may be in the city instead of the farm, but they haven’t changed their thieving ways. In fact, they’ve got even more ambitious. They’re planning to steal a monkey from the zoo and use it to pinch the Queen’s crown. It’s a pity for them that a certain crime-busting ladybird is holidaying in the very same city . . . and she’s got a good idea that will ensure the dastardly pair won’t get away with it!

With a whole host of noisy new zoo-animal characters to meet and even a cameo from the Queen, What the Ladybird Heard on Holiday, from stellar picture book partnership Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks, is a sure-fire hit.

Head over here for fun activity sheets

Julia Donaldson is the outrageously talented, prize-winning author of some of the world’s bestloved children’s books, including the modern classic The Gruffalo, and the hugely successful What the Ladybird Heard adventures. Julia also writes fiction, including the Princess Mirror-Belle books illustrated by Lydia Monks, as well as poems, plays and songs – and her brilliant live shows are always in demand. She was Children’s Laureate 2011-13 and has been honoured with an MBE for services to Literature.

Lydia Monks is one of the most original and bestselling picture book artists working today. Her distinctive use of colour and collage has won her critical acclaim and several awards, including the Royal Mail Scottish Children’s Book Award, the Stockport Children’s Book Award and multiple nominations for the Kate Greenaway Medal.

 

Nara and the Island, by Dan Ungureanu, published by Andersen Press

Nara lives with her father on a tiny island and dreams of visiting the island across the waves. So when she gets the opportunity to visit the mysterious island, an amazing adventure unfolds. This stunning story is the debut of exciting author-illustrator talent Dan Ungureanu.

The Bad Bunnies’ Magic Show, by Mini Grey, published by Simon & Schuster

Ladies and Gentlemen you are invited to the incredible debut performance of those masters of misdirection and surprise Mr Abra and Mr Cadabra, take your seats and keep a tight hold of your valuables.

Enter our competition to win a copy of The Bad Bunnies’ Magic Show (competition closes on the 30th June 2017)

 

Dino Diggers: Digger Disaster, by Rose Impey & Chris Chatterton, published by Bloomsbury

Meet Tyrone T. rex, Stan stegosaurs and the rest of the Dino Diggers – the best builders in Dino Town, who will never let you down! The perfect book for dinosaur and digger fans EVERYWHERE!

Today the Dino Diggers are building a car factory, but disaster strikes when Tyrone T. rex hits a water pipe. OH NO! Time for the Dino Diggers to do what they do best!

The first in a new series for fans of dinosaurs and diggers, with a fantastic free slot-together novelty included in every book. Collect the whole series for hours of dino fun. For fans of Amazing Machines, Dylan’s Amazing Dinosaurs and Bob the Builder.

Rose Impey is the author of over 110 children’s books, including the bestselling Sleepover Club series, which has sold more than 1 million copies and has also become a television series. She has been shortlisted for the Smarties Children’s Book Prize and the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, and her books have been published in over eight countries.

Chris Chatterton is an illustrator and animator who has a background in graphic design and commercial animation. Dino Diggers is his first series with Bloomsbury.

Have a go at our fun Dino Diggers activity pack and read an extract here

Sun, by Sam Usher, published by Templar

It’s the hottest day of the year, hotter than broccoli soup, hotter than the Atacama Desert, hotter than the surface of the sun. It’s just the right kind of day for a boy and his grandad to go for a picnic. But as the sun beats down, Grandad keeps having to stop for a rest, and by the time they find the perfect picnic spot, some pirates have beaten them to it. Good job they have enough food to share…

A follow-up to Sam Usher’s acclaimed seasonal picture books, Snow (2014) and Rain (2016), Sun is a joyful observation of a boy’s special relationship with his grandfather.

Enter our competition to win a bundle of Sam Usher’s weather series, including Sun, Rain and Snow (competition closes on the 30th June 2017).

 

Daisy Doodles, by Michelle Robinson and illustrated by Irene Dickson, published by Oxford University Press

When Daisy draws a little mouse named Pipsqeua, he comes to life and leads her on the most magical and creative adventure. Celebrating the imagination and encouraging creative play, ‘Daisy Doodles’ will be a big hit with children who love drawing and making things.

 

Muffins for Mummies, by Adam & Charlotte Guillain, published by Egmont

Join George for a Night at the Museum-style adventure in the latest title in this rollicking, rhyming series.

Someone’s been stealing cakes from the museum café and George (armed with 25 muffins as bait) is off to crack the crime! Can George and his faithful puppy Trixie track down the criminal without getting squashed by a great big mammoth?

My Very First Story Time: Cinderella, published by Pat-a-Cake

It’s never too early to introduce children to the magic and wonder of fairy tales. Classic characters are brought to life at each turn of the page with spellbinding artwork and lyrical writing.

A visual glossary at the beginning introduces new vocabulary and promotes understanding. A lively activity at the end invites discussion and will make even the very youngest children want to return to these story books again and again.

In this story, young readers can select their own fabulous outfits for the ball from the pages of a catalogue, just like Cinderella’s step-sisters did!

Lift-the-Flap and Colour African Animals and Forest, illustrated by Alice Bowsher, published by Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

Little ones can create their own colourful habitats with this innovative new colouring-in series created in partnership with the Natural History Museum. Lift the flaps to reveal hidden animals in their natural habitats, from the African watering hole to the forest floor, then read the accompanying rhyming text to learn about their environment.

Alice Bowsher is a graduate of Bath School of Art and Design, currently working and living in London. Primarily utilising black ink, the imagery she creates is simple and intriguing, and she enjoys making quick spontaneous marks. Her clients include White Stuff, WGSN, and Virgin.

http://alicebowsher.co.uk/ Twitter: @abowsh Instagram: @abowsh89

           

Enter our competition to win these books (competition closes on 23rd June 2017)

Maisy Goes to the Bookshop, by Lucy Cousins, published by Walker

A story of visiting the bookshop for the first time from the multi-award-winning Lucy Cousins. Maisy goes to the bookshop to buy a new book, and she also wants to get one as a present for her friend Tallulah. The bookshop shelves are packed full of amazing books! The shopkeeper is very helpful, too. Maisy finds her friends Charley, Cyril and Eddie inside. Everyone has so much fun choosing the books they love and imagining all sorts of wild and wonderful things! They share in story time together and even get to eat a tasty snack at the cafe. It’s more fun with Maisy!

Visit her amazing website – www.maisyfun.com – for activities, newsletters, games and more.

          

Fairy Magic, by Cerrie Burnell and illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson, published by Scholastic

When Isabelle meets a lovely fairy called Summer-Blue, she discovers a magical world, hidden in the woods at the bottom of her garden. She can’t wait to share what she’s learned with her family, but her sister and brothers don’t believe in fairies, and they don’t believe Isabelle! As a deaf child Isabelle can see and sense things that her family can’t. Her hearing aid helps her to understand their world – but how can she persuade them to step into hers?

An enchanting picture book about fairies, friendship and family, by CBeebies presenter Cerrie Burnell, illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson.

There’s a Monster in Your Book, by Tom Fletcher, published by Puffin

Bestselling author of The Christmasaurus, Tom Fletcher, has written a brand new picture book perfect for bedtime, where a mischievous monster has invaded the pages of your child’s book!

This read-aloud, interactive picture book treat invites children to make magic happen page by page, tilting, spinning and shaking the book, and then seeing the funny results when each page is turned. A fantastic celebration of all the fun that can be had with a book, with a wonderful wind-down bedtime ending!

The Cow Who Fell to Earth, by Nadia Shireen, published by Cape Child

One night a star C-LANDS right on top of a flock of bumbling sheep. But the star is not a star… It’s a little lost cow. And all she can say is ‘WOOOOOO’. How will she find her way home when nobody can understand a word she’s saying?

Both stylish and sweet, this hilarious tale is packed with Nadia Shireen’s adorable animal characters – perfect for all those who loved The Bumblebear.

 

 

 

 

#WorldBookDay