NEW BOOKS FOR 12+ IN JULY

« Back

Nemesis, by Brendan Reichs, published by Macmillan

It’s been happening since Min was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, the same man finds her and murders her in cold blood. But hours later she wakes up in a clearing just outside her hometown – alone, unhurt, and with all evidence of the crime erased.

Across the valley, Noah just wants to be like everyone else. But he’s not. Nightmares of murder and death plague him too, though he does his best to hide the signs. And as the world around them begins to spiral towards panic and destruction, the two troubled teens discover that people have been lying to them their whole lives . . .

A YA summer blockbuster thriller for fans of The Maze Runner and The 100.

Alex, Approximately, by Jenn Bennett, published by Simon & Schuster

Bailey “Mink” Rydell has met the boy of her dreams. They share a love of films and talk all day – Alex is perfect. Well, apart from the fact that they’ve never actually met . . . and neither of them knows the other’s real name.

When Bailey moves to sunny California to live with her dad, who happens to live in the same town as Alex, she decides to track him down. But finding someone based on online conversations alone proves harder than Bailey thought, and with her irritating but charismatic (and potentially attractive?) colleague Porter Roth distracting her at every turn, will she ever get to meet the mysterious Alex?

Enter our competition to win a copy of the book here (closing date is 31st July 2017)

No Filter, by Orlagh Collins, published by Bloomsbury

This is the story of THAT SUMMER … the one when everything changes.

Emerald has grown up in a privileged world – the beloved daughter of a wealthy family, friends with all the right people, social media addict. But Emerald’s family has secrets – and when Emerald finds her mum unconscious on the bathroom floor, no one can pretend any more. Now she’s being packed off to stay with her grandma in Ireland while her mum recuperates and her dad just works and works and works.

Grandma’s big, lonely house is set back from the beach, and there’s no phone signal or wifi. It’s going to be a long summer … Until she meets Liam.

When you’re falling in love, it’s hard to tell someone everything. Even if you’ve got nothing to hide any more. And when secrets and lies are all you’re used to, how do you deal with real love – brave and true – with no filter?

The fresh, funny and poignant debut novel from Orlagh Collins, a bright new voice in YA fiction. Authentic, down to earth and sweepingly romantic all at once, No Filter is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Read an extract here

Born in Dublin, Orlagh Collins left Ireland after university to break into the film industry in London, working on productions such as Calendar Girls and Ali G before taking over as Head of Physical Production at Pathe´ Films, where she oversaw numerous award-winning films including Breakfast on Pluto and The Queen. Orlagh co-produced the BIFA-winning documentary Joe Strummer: The Future is Unwritten and Mary Shelley, starring Elle Fanning. Orlagh lives in Somerset with her husband and their two children. No Filter is her first novel.

Pop Girl Signed with a Kiss, by Tallia Storm, published by Scholastic

After an I-still-can’t-believe-it brush with fame, teen singing sensation Storm Hall is determined to keep her star on the rise. She records a demo, and soon her all-time favourite label wants to sign her. And is mega-hottie rock god Jase Mahone flirting with her? A hotel suite in London, fancy cars, parties – Storm’s finally living the dream! But life as a pop star means letting go of her old life, even the people she loves most. Is this really the dream she wants?

Enter our competition to win a copy of the book (closing date is 31st July 2017).

More Than One Way to be a Girl, by Dyan Sheldon, published by Simon & Schuster

From the writer of Confessions of A Teenage Drama Queen and My Worst Best Friend comes this hugely entertaining teen read, all about what it really means to be a girl. ZiZi likes to think of herself as a girly girl: her wardrobe is almost exclusively pink, her daily makeup routine can take upwards of an hour and she loves a bit of a flirt. Her best friend Loretta is very different: all of her clothes are black, she doesn’t wear any makeup whatsoever and she doesn’t like the way ZiZi dumbs herself down for boys – or her old-fashioned ideas about “a woman’s place”. One day, they decide to make a bet. Can ZiZi stand looking like Loretta for longer than Loretta can bear dressing like ZiZi? As their summer unfolds – often hilariously – the pair are surprised to find they have a lot to learn from each other.

To read the first chapter, please click here

To win a copy of the book, click here (closing date is 31st July 2017).

The Other Side of Truth, by Beverley Naidoo, published by Puffin

This is the story of 12 year-old Sade and her brother Femi who flee to Britain from Nigeria. Their father is a political journalist who refuses to stop criticising

the military rulers in Nigeria. Their mother is killed and they are sent to London, with their father promising to follow. Abandoned at Victoria Station by the

woman paid to bring them to England as her children, Sade and Femi find themselves alone in a new, often hostile, environment. Seen through the eyes of

Sade, the novel explores what it means to be classified as ‘illegal’ and the difficulties which come with being a refugee.

Now I Rise, by Kiersten White, published by Corgi Childrens

Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost. The mind-blowing sequel to AND I DARKEN, described by Buzzfeed as ‘A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic’ is a sweeping Ottoman-inspired historical adventure. Starring the inimitable antiprincess Lada, the dagger-wielding drama of her story is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Victoria Aveyard.

Lada Dracul has no allies and no throne. After failing to seize the crown she believes is hers, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside terrorizing the land. But brute force isn’t getting her what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed, the sultan she might have been in love with, brings little comfort to her thorny heart. She left him before he could leave her.

Lada needs her brother Radu’s subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople as his reluctant spy. Radu longs for his sister’s fierce confidence but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself, but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?

We The Unicorns: The World of Youtube, published by Studio Press

From Creator Cove to Phan Island, wetheunicorns.com’s World Of YouTube is the ULTIMATE destination for YouTuber fans. We live to bring you inside access on all of your favourite creators, both big and small. From news to interviews, quizzes to in depth commentary – we’ve got your back. Take a tour through the wonderful world of YouTube with this book as your guide and discover interesting debate pieces, hilarious quizzes, interviews, lists, articles and much more.

Indigo Donut, by Patrice Lawrence, published by Hachette

The breathtaking second book from the author of Orangeboy, winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize for Older Readers and the YA Book Prize and shortlisted for the Costa Book Award .

Seventeen-year-old Indigo has had a tough start in life, having grown up in the care system after her dad killed her mum. Bailey, also seventeen, lives with his parents in Hackney and spends all his time playing guitar or tending to his luscious ginger afro.

When Indigo and Bailey meet at sixth form, serious sparks fly. But when Bailey becomes the target of a homeless man who seems to know more about Indigo than is normal, Bailey is forced to make a choice he should never have to make.

A life-affirming story about falling in love and everyone’s need to belong.

Flight of a Starling, by Lisa Heathfield, published by Egmont

The stunning new novel from award-shortlisted Lisa Heathfield, author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Rita and Lo, sisters and best friends, have spent their lives on the wing – flying through the air in their trapeze act, never staying in one place for long. Behind the greasepaint and the glitter, they know that the true magic is the family they travel with.

Until Lo meets a boy. Suddenly, she wants nothing more than to stay still. And as secrets start to tear apart the close-knit circus community, how far will Lo go to keep her feet on the ground?

 

 

#WorldBookDay