NEW BOOKS FOR 0-5 IN AUGUST

« Back

I Really Want The Cake, by Simon Philip and Lucia Gaggioti, published by Templar

There’s a smell I can’t ignore.
It’s wafting through the kitchen door.
It’s time for me to find out more.
I think it might be cake.

How do you resist the most amazing cake ever? Especially when your mum has left a note saying that you MUST NOT eat the cake?

This wonderful rhyming text from Simon Philip, author of You Must Bring a Hat, is illustrated with huge energy and humour by Lucia Gaggiotti.

Fergal is Fuming, by Robert Starling, published by Andersen Press

Fergal is a nice chap… but when things don’t go his way, he gets very, very ANGRY. A dragon with a short temper is not a good combination, as Fergal’s family and friends soon find out. He burns the dinner (literally), reduces the football goal to ashes and absolutely cannot play a nice, quiet board game. It is only when he starts to notice other animals have clever tricks to calm down that Fergal begins to win back his friends, especially when he discovers dragons can cool off in a very handy way.

‘A striking and very charming debut about a little dragon learning to cope with his big temper’ The Bookseller

Perfectly Norman, by Tom Percival, published by Bloomsbury

Norman had always been perfectly normal. That was until the day he grew a pair of wings!

Norman is very surprised to have wings suddenly – and he has the most fun ever trying them out high in the sky. But then he has to go in for dinner. What will his parents think? What will everyone else think? Norman feels the safest plan is to cover his wings with a big coat.

But hiding the thing that makes you different proves tricky and upsetting. Can Norman ever truly be himself?

A poignant yet uplifting story about individuality, with stunning artwork in a striking minimal palette from the author/illustrator of Herman’s Letter. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Benji Davies will love it.

Tom Percival is a writer, artist, video producer and musician. Tom writes and illustrates his own picture books, including Tobias and the Super Spooky Ghost Book, A Home for Mr Tipps (HarperCollins) and Jack’s Amazing Shadow (Pavilion). Perfectly Norman is Tom’s fourth picture book for Bloomsbury, following Herman’s Letter, Herman’s Holiday, Bubble Trouble and By the Light of the Moon. Tom lives in Stroud with his partner and their two small children.

www.tom-percival.com @TomPercivalsays

To read an extract, click here

I Want to Go First!, by Richard Byrne, published by Oxford University Press

The littlest always goes last. That’s the elephant rule. But Elphie really wants to go first. Luckily, he knows someone who can help. It’s you! With real audience participation all the way through, this is the latest imaginative story from innovative picture book maker Richard Byrne.

Put your observational skills to the test with our fun spot the difference activity sheet featuring Elphie and his friends.

Dinosaurs United and Cowardly Custard Pirate Crew, by Sam Hay, illustrated by Dan Parton, published by Egmont

This fast-paced, fun-packed story comes with an amazing 3D dinosaur mask for children to dress-up and join their very own dinosaur football team!

Meet Dinosaurs United – Lightning, Ziggy, Coco, Dippy and Spike.  They’re an awesome five-a-side footy team who play in the Fantasy Football League!

They’re fast and fun and always on the ball – which is just as well because their opponents will use every sneaky trick in the book to win the cup!

In their first adventure, the amazing Dinosaurs United go head-to-head against the Cowardly Custard Pirate Crew! But oh no – they’ve lost their kit, and they have to use their wits and football skills to find it! Can the dino team club together to defeat the dastardly pirates and win the match?

Enter our competition to be in with a chance of winning a copy.

Opposite Things and Counting Things, by Anna Kovecses, published by Wide Eyed Editions

Teach your child opposites and help them learn to count with Little Mouse in these cute lift-the-flap board books. A follow up to the popular One Thousand Things, these are new first concept board books in the Little Mouse series, with a large lift-flap on every page. A stylish way to reinforce key skills.

Born in Hungary, young, dynamic illustrator Anna Kovecses, lives and works in Cyprus. Her work marries contemporary minimalism with an appealing retro-modern illustration style.

              

         

Izzy Gizmo, by Pip Jones, illustrated by Sara Ogilvie, published by Simon & Schuster

Izabelle Gizmo just loves to invent, but her inventions never seem to work the way she wants them to. And that makes her really CROSS! When she finds a crow with a broken wing she just has to help. But will she be able to put her frustrations to one side and help her new friend to fly again?

Enter our competition to be in with a chance of winning 1 of 10 Izzy Gizmo books and postcard sets.

 

Dylan the Teacher, by Guy Parker-Rees, published by Alison Green

Dylan’s on his way – are you ready to play? Dylan the Teacher is the third picture book in a series featuring an exuberant stripy dog, who just loves to play. Created by bestselling illustrator Guy Parker-Rees, Dylan is a joyous new character who uses playing and fun to help toddlers explore and understand their world. Today Dylan is playing at being a teacher. But being a teacher isn’t as easy as it looks. There are quite a few disasters – and a splosh in the river – before Dylan finally discovers what he’s good at teaching: his Cheery-Warm-Up Song and Dance! Look out for Dylan’s friend, Dotty Bug, on every page, as she encourages readers to join in with the story.

Find out how Guy Parker-Rees came up with the idea for Dylan with our Q&A interview

In The Woods, by Thereza Rowe, published by Thames & Hudson

The woods are abuzz with activity as all the animals get ready for a very special event: Red the fox’s wedding day. But as the penguins are collecting the decorations, they realise not everyone is feeling happy in themselves. Olly the horse is upset that he is the only one of his friends not to have turned into a unicorn; Lionel the lion has lost his pride and glory – his mane; and on the morning of her wedding, the cake Red fox had spent hours making is stolen by the big bad wolf. In these three tales, the penguins and their friends work together to cheer each other up and their inventive solutions show what a difference good friends can make. Each story ends with the same empowering mantra, ‘Be Happy Now!’

A bright, bold and heart-warming picture book for children aged 3+.

They Came from Planet Zabalooloo!, by Sean Taylor and Kate Hindley, published by Walker Books

From the author of Hoot Owl, Master of Disguise and the team behind Don’t Call Me Choochie Pooh! comes a wildly inventive, contemporary picture book comedy about aliens. Boron, Bazoo and Zob are three extra-terrestrials on a mission. They’re going to take something brilliant from Earth and bring it back to their home planet, Zabalooloo. Something like … an enormous elephant! But this goofy, giddy trio are simply too overexcited – they’re never going to catch anything if they keep wiggle-woggle dancing, taking selfies and shouting, “Ooh la la!”.

To win a copy of the book, click here.

        

Chocolate Cake, by Michael Rosen, published by Puffin

When I was a boy,
I had a favourite treat.
It was when my mum made . . .
CHOCOLATE CAKE!

Ohhh! I LOVED chocolate cake.

Fantastically funny and full of silly noises, this is Michael Rosen’s love letter to every child’s favourite treat, chocolate cake. Brought to life as a picture book for the first time with brilliant and characterful illustrations by Kevin Waldron.

Mouse House, by John Burningham, published by Cape Child

In the house there lives a family: a mum, a dad, a girl and a boy. But they are not alone; a secret mouse family is living there too, who only come out when everyone else is asleep.

One day they are spotted and the mouse catcher is called … Will they escape in time?

A story of home and hope from picture-book genius, John Burningham.

Tyrannosaurus Drip, by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, published by Macmillan

Whoever heard of a vegetarian T. rex? Meet Drip, the little dinosaur who hatched in the wrong nest, in this special anniversary edition of Tyrannosaurus Drip. Celebrate ten roaring years with this special anniversary edition of the rollicking story Tyrannosaurus Drip by the fantastic pairing of Julia Donaldson and David Roberts.

Everyone knows that tyrannosauruses are big and scary, so when a placid duckbill dinosaur’s egg ends up in the wrong nest, confusion is sure to ensue! When the baby dinosaur hatches out, he’s so out of place that his grisly big sisters call him Tyrannosaurus Drip. Poor little Drip: all he wants is a quiet life munching on water weed . . .

Children will love this rhyming and playful tale from the dynamic picture book partnership behind The Troll. The Tyrannosaurus Drip 10th Anniversary Edition comes complete with special bonus material, including a sneak peek at the illustrator’s sketchbook and a letter from the author. With a gorgeous, deluxe cover this is an absolute must for all Julia Donaldson and David Roberts fans!

Lift-the-flap: Questions & Answers About Nature, published by Usborne

This delightful book answers all kinds of questions about nature. Lift the flaps to find out which, where, why, what, how and who.

PJ Masks: Battle of the HQs, published by Pat-a-Cake

It’s time to be a hero! By day, they are Connor, Greg and Amaya, but by night they are Catboy, Gekko and Owlette, the PJ Masks.

This cool adventure storybook is based on the episode ‘Owlette and the Battling Headquarters’ – Amaya notices that the Ninjalinos are stealing all the school buses, and it turns out that Night Ninja is using the stolen buses to build a headquarters to rival the PJ Masks’! At first Owlette is worried that the PJ Masks’ HQ cannot fight back power-for-power, but eventually the PJ Masks work together to beat the baddies. PJ Masks all shout hooray!

 

#WorldBookDay