NEW BOOKS FOR 5-8 IN AUGUST

« Back

The 91-Storey Treehouse, by Andy Griffiths, illustrated by Terry Denton, published by Macmillan
 
Laugh-out-loud wacky adventures in the world’s most awesome treehouse! The seventh instalment in this hilarious and highly illustrated series will appeal to fans of Captain Underpants and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

The 91-Storey Treehouse is the seventh book of Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton’s wacky treehouse adventures, where the laugh-out-loud story is told through a combination of text and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations.

Join Andy and Terry in their now 91-storey spectacular treehouse. They’ve added thirteen new levels, including the world’s most powerful whirlpool, a mashed-potato-and-gravy train and a human pinball machine. Why not try your luck on the spin-and-win prize wheel or hang out in a giant spider web (with a giant spider), or you can always get your fortune told by Madam Know-it-all or eat a submarine sandwich the size of an actual submarine while deciding whether or not to push the big red button . . .

Well, what are you waiting for? Come on up!

Spy Toys: Out of Control!, by Mark Powers and illustrated by Tim Wesson, published by Bloomsbury

WHO SAID YOU HAD TO PLAY NICE?

It’s a daring mission for the Spy Toys! The secret code that controls every toy’s mind has been stolen! It’s up to Dan, the super strong teddy bear, Arabella, the doll with a serious temper, and Flax, the gadget-crazy robot rabbit to get it back before toys everywhere turn against children.

But who is the evil mastermind behind this plan? And can the Spy Toys stop them in time?

Author Mark Powers has been making up ridiculous stories since primary school and is slightly shocked to find people now pay him to do it. As a child he always daydreamed that his teddy bear went off on top secret missions when he was at school, so a team of toys recruited as spies seemed a great idea for a story. He grew up in north Wales and now lives in Manchester. His favourite animals are the binturong, the aye-aye and the dodo.

Illustrator Tim Wesson was born somewhere in England. As a young boy he enjoyed climbing trees and drawing pictures of dogs in cars. Eventually he became an illustrator who creates children’s books. Tim doodles and paints whenever he can and likes to draw the first thing that pops into his head. He lives by the sea in Suffolk with his family.

Animazes, by Katie Haworth and Melissa Castrillón, published by Big Picture Press

Did you know that humpback whales are some of the furthest travelling mammals in the world? Or that Arctic terns fly from the Arctic to Antarctica and back again?

In Melissa Castrillón’s wonderfully illustrated Animazes, young readers can follow these incredible journeys through twisting, turning mazes. They can find a safe path for the wildebeest and trace a rockhopper penguin’s trail up the slippery cliffs.

An interactive, informative title for all ages.

Flat Stanley and Invisible Stanley and Stanley and the Magic Lamp, by Jeff Brown, illustrated by Rob Biddulph, published by Egmont

With brilliant new illustrations by the award-winning author/illustrator Rob Biddulph, join the hilarious and magical adventures of everyone’s favourite flat hero – Flat Stanley.

Stanley Lambchop was just an ordinary boy – until a noticeboard fell on him. Now he’s flat as a pancake! Join him in three adventures as he helps stop thieves, turns invisible and find a magic teapot that grants wishes!

          

Going to School, by Rose Blake, published by Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

Explore a day in the life of a little girl at school in this book that takes you from breakfast to bedtime. A gentle introduction to the school day for little ones, with an unfolding visual narrative that young children will have fun making out for themselves. Perfect for children about to go – or in their first years – at school with friendly, accessible artwork.

Rose Blake studied Illustration and Animation at Kingston University, where she was awarded the D&AD Best New Blood Award. She followed this with an MA at the Royal College of Art. She works as a fine artist and as an illustrator, and has completed commissions for The New Yorker, The New York Times, The Telegraph, The Sunday Times, The BBC and Tatler.

Enter our competition to win a copy of the book (closes on the 25th August 2017).

      

The New Adventures of Mr Toad: Toad Hall in Lockdown, by Tom Moorhouse, illustrated by Holly Swain, published by Oxford University Press

Squirrel skulduggery is afoot when Mr Toad calls in the builders to renovate his home. Why do the squirrels look so strange? Teejay, Mo, and Ratty are suspicious and follow the squirrels to Wildwood Industrious HQ where the Chief Weasel has hatched a dastardly plan. Can the children outwit the villains and ensure Mr Toad and his property stay safe?

 

The Scruffs: Showtime!, by Hannah Shaw, published by Scholastic

Welcome to the Misfits Pet Shop! When the scruffy pets accidentally get sent to Wufts, they end up solving a crime – and winning best in show! More animal mayhem from talented author/illustrator Hannah Shaw.

Hansel and Gretel, by Michael Morpurgo, illustrated by Emma Chichester Clark, published by Walker 

No child ever forgets the story of the witch, the breadcrumb trail and the gingerbread house in the forest. Former Children’s Laureate Michael Morpurgo takes the Brothers Grimm classic to a new level, weaving from these themes a rich fairytale tapestry of hunger and hope, cruelty and courage. With breath-taking illustrations by the celebrated Emma Chichester Clark, this edition of Hansel and Gretel will grip the imagination of a whole new generation of children.

            

The Magic Potions Shop: The Emerald Dragon, by Abie Longstaff, published by Red Fox

In the sixth magical adventure in the new young fiction series from the creators of the Fairytale Hairdresser, the time has come for young Tibben to take the test to become the new Potions Master. But he’s going to need some help along the way, and the Emerald Dragon might well have to lend a hand . . . Or a wing!

Perfect for first readers whether reading alone or reading aloud.

This is the sixth book in the enchanting six-book Magic Potions Shop series. Book 1: The Young Apprentice; book 2: The River Horse; book 3: The Blizzard Bear; book 4:The Lightning Pup; book 5: The Fire Bird; book 6: The Emerald Dragon

Winston and the Marmalade Cat, by Megan Rix, published by Puffin

Winston and the Marmalade Cat is the first in a brand-new series from award winning author Megan Rix! Full of adventure, fascinating history and super-cute animals, this series is perfect for 6-8 year old readers and fans of Dick King-Smith and Michael Morpurgo.

Nine-year-old Harry is desperate for a pet of his own but working at the local animal rescue centre is the next best thing. One day, he’s asked to take a very special birthday present to Chartwell, home of the famous Prime-Minister and animal-lover Winston Churchill. During his visit, Harry learns all about Winston’s past and his much-loved pets. Will Harry get to meet Winston Churchill and will he ever get a pet of his very own?

Violet and the Mummy Mystery, by Harriet Whitehorn, illustrated by Becka Moor, published by Simon & Schuster

Can YOU solve the case of the missing mummy?

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making… When Violet’s cousin Agnes and her Aunt Mathilde arrive from Cairo, Violet is delighted.  Aunt Mathilde is a Professor of Ancient Egyptology and has discovered a mummy that may be the key to revealing the secret location of Queen Nefertiti’s tomb. Violet can’t wait to find out more! So when the precious mummy is stolen from the British Museum, it’s a disaster. Who has managed to pull off this crime right under the security guards’ noses and where is the mummy now?  It’s up to Violet and the gang to save the day!

The Usborne Chess Book, published by Usborne

This fun book is packed with brain-teasing puzzles, useful facts and clever tips that will teach you how to play chess and improve your game. Have a go at our chess activity sheet.

Rabbit and Bear: The Pest in the Nest, by Julian Gough and Jim Field, published by Hachette

‘PEACE AND QUIET,’ shouts Rabbit. ‘THAT’S ALL I WANT.’

Owch. He’s hurt his own ears again. What with Bear’s snoring, and a BANG!BANG!BANG! noise from up in the tree, Rabbit knows that Something Simply Has To Be Done.

But high in the branches, perhaps Bear can show Rabbit how to see the world from a different place…

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when  they’re shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books.

 

#WorldBookDay