NEW BOOKS FOR 12+ IN OCTOBER

« Back

The Beast is an Animal, by Peternelle van Arsdale, published by Simon & Schuster

Alys was the only one to see the soul eaters when they came to her village. The others were sleeping. They never woke up…

Now, an orphan, Alys knows the full danger of the soul eaters. She’s heard the nursery rhymes the chidren sing about the twin sisters who feed on souls. She’s seen people disappear into the fforest and never come back. So why, then, does she find herself mysteriously drawn to the forest? Is she what everyone around her says she is? A witch?

Alys soon finds herself on a journey that will take her to the very heart of the fforest. There she must decide where true evil lies. And face the thing they call… The Beast.

A fairy tale with a difference: shivery, dark, and deeply satisfying.

Enter our competition for your chance to win a copy of the book (closes on the 31st October 2017).

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume one, by Philip Pullman, published by David Fickling Books

Eleven-year-old Malcolm Polstead and his dæmon, Asta, live with his parents at the Trout Inn near Oxford. Across the River Thames (which Malcolm navigates often using his beloved canoe, a boat by the name of La Belle Sauvage) is the Godstow Priory where the nuns live. Malcolm learns they have a guest with them; a baby by the name of Lyra Belacqua…

Witchborn, by Nicholas Bowling, published by Chicken House 

Alyce is in Bedlam asylum – mad, they say. Her mother has been executed for witchcraft, her home destroyed and her spirit crushed … so maybe it’s true. Or maybe she isn’t as broken as she seems.

A visit from two masked strangers provides an opportunity to escape – and Alyce takes it. Now she must navigate the dark streets of London where there’s a secret waiting to be unravelled. In an England divided by rival queens, it seems Alyce has a part to play – if only she can master the rising power within her…

Enter our competition for your chance to win a copy of the book and read an extract here.

Turtles All The Way Down, by John Green, published by Penguin

Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred thousand dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.

Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.

In his long-awaited return, John Green, the acclaimed, award-winning author of Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars, shares Aza’s story with shattering, unflinching clarity in this brilliant novel of love, resilience, and the power of lifelong friendship.

A Shiver of Snow and Sky, by Lisa Lueddecke, published by Scholastic

On the frozen island of Skane, the sky speaks. Beautiful lights appear on clear nights, and their colours have meaning: Green means all is well, and the Goddess is happy. Blue means a snow storm is on the way. And then there’s red. Red is rare. A warning. Seventeen years ago the sky turned red just as Osa was born, unleashing a plague that claimed the lives of hundreds of villagers, including her own mother. This time, when the night sky once again bleeds crimson, she must discover what it means before so many lives are lost again.

Scarecrow, by Danny Weston, published by Andersen

Jack and his dad are on the run from some powerful and dangerous people. Dad drives them to a remote shooting lodge in the Scottish Highlands, where they intend to lay low.

In the cornfield beside the lodge stands a scarecrow. When Jack witnesses something incredible, he begins to realise that it is no ordinary scarecrow – it is alive, hungry and fuelled by rage. And when Dad’s enemies begin to converge on the lodge, the scarecrow might just turn out to be Jack’s best hope for survival.

WTU: Quiz Book, We The Unicorns, published by Studio Press

A bumper quiz book featuring the best YouTube quizzes from the wetheunicorns.com. With personality quizzes, knowledge quizzes, YouTube checklists, choose your own adventures and everything in between. From the serious to the silly, there’s a quiz for every YouTube fan. Add up your score to find out your ultimate fan score, and see whether you’re a true YouTube fan or if you’ve got a bit more to learn!

wetheunicorns.com are the heart of the YouTube community, its writers and journalists are YouTube fans and creators, writing to appeal to an audience of intelligent young people who care about the world around them.

Explanatorium of Nature, published by DK

Jaw-dropping, up-close photography shows the natural world and animals as you’ve never seen it before!

From fruit to flowers, from shells to sharks, from ants to elephants, this extraordinary new encyclopedia will keep animal and nature enthusiasts from ages 9 to 109 utterly absorbed by amazing, close-up images.

Did you know that baby foxes are born with blue eyes which later turn golden? Or that reptile scales are made from keratin, the same material as your hair and nails?

Explanatorium of Nature is the perfect way to find out how everything in nature works and why fungi, plants, animals, arthropods, fish, mammals, reptiles, amphibians and ecosystems exist and what they mean for our world. Discover how spiders spin webs, how flying works, how snakes kill, and much, much more.

Children will spend hours poring over the incredible details in nature, from the spines on a stinging nettle and lichen growing on a tree to the suckers on an  iguana’s feet. Using never-before-seen cross sections, macro, SEM, infrared and ultraviolet close-up pictures, this is your chance to truly get up close with our natural world.

It Only Happens in the Movies, by Holly Bourne, published by Usborne

The stunning new YA novel from Holly Bourne, the acclaimed author of the bestselling Spinster Club series. Audrey is over romance. Since her parents’ relationship imploded her mother’s been catatonic, so she takes a cinema job to get out of the house. But there she meets wannabe film-maker Harry. Nobody expects Audrey and Harry to fall in love as hard and fast as they do. But that doesn’t mean things are easy. Because real love isn’t like the movies…

Enter our competition for your chance to win a copy of the book (closes on the 31st October 2017).

Satellite, by Nick Lake, published by Hachette

Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways.

Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home – their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion…

The Martian for teens – an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty.

The Dollmaker of Krakow, by R. M. Romero, published by Walker  

A timeless fantasy set in the Second World

War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in Krakow, Poland, in 1939 and changes the life of the gruff, broken-hearted Dollmaker. And when the darkness of the Nazi occupation sweeps over the city, Karolina and the Dollmaker must bravely use their magic to save their Jewish friends from a terrible danger, no matter what the risks. This powerful story is about finding friendship in the darkest of places and the importance of love in times of great pain.

Enter our competition for your chance to win a copy of the book (closes on the 31st October 2017).

To read the first chapter, please click here.

Monster, by Michael Grant, published by Egmont

Michaal Grant’s action-packed and much anticipated new book, set in the aftermath of the bestselling Gone series.

When the dome came down, they thought it was the end of the troubles. Truth is, it was just the beginning.

Shade Darby witnessed events that day, with devastating consequences, and vowed never to feel that powerless again. Now, four years later, she gets her hands on a part of the meteor that began it all – and that’s when she changes. Trouble is, Shade’s not the only one mutating, and the authorities cannot allow these superpowers to go unchecked…

Enter our competition for your chance to win a copy of the book (closes on the 20th October 2017).

#WorldBookDay