NEW BOOKS FOR 5-8 IN NOVEMBER

« Back

The Bad Mood and the Stick by Lemony Snicket, illustrated by Matthew Forsythe, published by Andersen

Lemony Snicket’s witty new picture book offers a refreshing, thoughtful, and hilarious look at the ways in which a bad mood wreaks havoc as it moves from person to person, leaving an unexpected trail of surprise in its wake: opportunities for laughter, forgiveness and even love.

Meet the most endearing and predictable bad mood yet – an emoji-like cloud character – who allows young readers to look their bad mood in the eye. From the author of the acclaimed, bestselling picture book The Dark comes another wise observation about the emotional forces that impact our lives.

Safari Pug by Laura James, published by Bloomsbury

Meet the brilliant, the wonderful, the courageous … Safari Pug! The third book in a joyful illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff.

When Pug and Lady Miranda have a scary run-in with a lion one night (it might be hiding under the bed), Lady M decides Pug needs to face his fears and go on safari. Pug goes a bit wobbly when he finds out he’ll be coming nose to nose with Florence, the rare white lion cub, but he soon realises that lions may not be the most dangerous thing in the wildlife park…

Enter our competition for a chance to win a copy of Safari Pug (closes on the 30th November 2017).

A Child Through Time, published by DK

History books often focus on adults, but what was the past like for children?

From early civilisations through to the modern era, A Child Through Time is a highly original look at history for kids. Discover what life was like for Egyptian, Viking, Tudor and Cold War children, see the toys they played with and the food they ate in this fascinating book, jam-packed with history facts and illustrations that bring the children to life.

With profiles of real children from different time periods, children will learn more than ever about the real life Pocahontas, Marie Antoinette and even Anne Frank. Delve into the historic moments they witnessed and get a real insight into how they would have looked. A Child Through Time is perfect for kids looking to discover how their lives could have been.

Asterix and the Chariot Race by Jean-Yves Ferri, illustrated by Didier Conrad, published by Hachette

Join Asterix and Obelix on a wacky new journey with your favourite characters, packed with laughs by the bucket-load and all the usual adventure and action!

Shifty McGifty and Slippery Sam Jingle Bells! by Tracey Corderoy, illustrated by Steven Lenton, published by Nosy Crow

Three hilarious stories featuring the two detective dogs. Shifty and Sam have a lot on their plates as someone’s stolen all of Santa’s presents, a weird cat has cursed Sam and a sea monster’s invaded the fairground fun day.

 

Top Elf by Caleb Zane Huett, published by Scholastic

Ollie and Celia think they know what the life of an elf is supposed to be like: make toys. Help Santa. Make more toys. Help Santa. Try out a new ice-cream flavor. Help Santa. But then Santa rocks the North Pole with a surprise announcement! He’s decided this is going to be his last year in the Big Red Suit – and instead of letting his oldest son, the unfortunately named Klaus Claus, take over, he’s opening up the job to any kid who wants to apply – Claus or elf. The Santa Trials have begun! Ollie and Celia enter the contest, having no idea whatsoever that they’ll soon have to squeeze through impossible chimneys, race runaway sleighs, sweet-talk a squad of rowdy reindeer, and consume cruel amounts of cookies and milk. It’s both an adventure and a survival test, far beyond what any elf or Claus has been asked to do before. But whoever rises to the top will get a reward even bigger than Christmas . . .

To win a copy of Top Elf, enter our competition by the 30th November 2017.


Hatchimals: The Official Colleggtor’s Guide
, published by Puffin

This complete guide to the Hatchimals Colleggtibles features every single little Hatchimal out there. Fans of the collectible toys can find out more about each of the characters, learn about their magical world, and keep track of their collection with the comprehensive collector’s list. Also includes exclusive collector cards!

The Star Tree by Catherine Hyde, published by Quarto

When Miranda climbs on her rocking horse and makes a wish on Midsummer Night’s Eve she goes on a magical midnight journey all the way to the Tree of Constellations. The Star Tree is a mysterious picture book with beautiful, dreamlike illustrations.

Catherine Hyde trained in Fine Art Painting at Central School of Art in London. She has illustrated two acclaimed picture books – The Princess’s Blankets and Firebird. Catherine lives with her husband and daughters in Cornwall. www.catherinehyde.co.uk

Enter our competition for a chance to win a bundle of Quarto children’s books, including The Star Tree (closes 23rd November 2017).

The Greatest Magician in the World by Matt Edmondson, illustrated by Garry Parsons, published by Pan Macmillan

Hey presto! A magic book with a difference from TV and radio personality Matt Edmondson and acclaimed illustrator Garry Parsons.

Three Cheers for Women! by Marcia Williams, published by Walker Books

Join Marcia Williams as she celebrates incredible women from around the world and throughout history. From writers to warriors and astronauts to activists, discover their awesome stories and be amazed by their achievements. Featuring Cleopatra, Boudicca, Joan of Arc, Elizabeth I, Mary Wollstonecraft, Jane Austen, Florence Nightingale, Marie Curie, Eleanor Roosevelt, Amelia Earhart, Frida Kahlo, Wangari Maathai, Mae C. Jemison, Cathy Freeman and Malala, and packed with facts, quotes and jokes – hip, hip, hooray!

To be in with a chance of winning a copy of this book, enter our competition by the 30th November 2017.

Barry Loser’s Christmas Joke Book by Jim Smith, published by Egmont

Knock knock! Who’s there? Barry Loser’s Christmas Joke Book Wow! Really? It’s snow joke…

It’s the keelest time of the year, so why not celebrate with this collection of Christmas crackers from everyone’s favourite loser?

A festive feast of puns, one-liners, cartoons and funny tales, all with a Barry Loser twist. Perfect for sharing with friends and family and best enjoyed when read very loudly at 5am on Christmas morning.

What’s it like in space? by Katie Daynes, published by Usborne

A charming, interactive introduction to space, exploring not just what’s in space, but what it would be like to actually visit. Find out what you can hear, see and eat, and what living on Mars would really be like.

To win a copy of What’s it like in space? enter our competition (closing date 30th November 2017).

#WorldBookDay