NEW BOOKS FOR 8-12 IN NOVEMBER

« Back

Norse Myths by Kevin Crossley-Holland, illustrated by Jeffrey Alan Love, published by Walker (10+)

The gods of the Vikings come to life as never before in this extraordinary illustrated anthology by Carnegie Medal-winning author Kevin Crossley-Holland and artist Jeffrey Alan Love. These dramatic, enthralling and atmospheric tales are based on the Scandinavian myth cycle – one of the greatest and most culturally significant stories in the world – and tell of Odin with his one eye, Thor with his mighty hammer and Loki, the red-haired, shape-shifting trickster. In this stunning collection of myths, the strange world of ancient magic, giants, dwarfs and monsters is unforgettably imagined.

To win a copy of the book, enter our competition by the 30th November 2017.

Bad Dad by David Walliams, illustrated by Tony Ross, published by HarperCollins

Dads come in all sorts of shapes and sizes.

There are fat ones and thin ones, tall ones and short ones.
There are young ones and old ones, clever ones and stupid ones.
There are silly ones and serious ones, loud ones and quiet ones.
Of course, there are good dads, and bad dads . . .

A high-speed cops and robbers adventure with heart and soul about a father and son taking on the villainous Mr Big – and winning! This riches-to-rags story will have you on the edge of your seat and howling with laughter! Bad Dad is a fast and furious, heart-warming story of a father and son on an adventure – and a thrilling mission to break an innocent man into prison!

The Song from Somewhere Else by A.F. Harrold, published by Bloomsbury

Frank doesn’t know how to feel when Nick Underbridge rescues her from bullies one afternoon. No one likes Nick. He’s big, he’s weird and he smells – or so everyone in Frank’s class thinks.

And yet, there’s something nice about Nick’s house. There’s strange music playing there, and it feels light and good and makes Frank feel happy for the first time in forever. But there’s more to Nick, and to his house, than meets the eye, and soon Frank realises she isn’t the only one keeping secrets. Or the only one who needs help…

A poignant, darkly comic and deeply moving story about the power of the extraordinary, and finding friendship where you least expect it. Written by the author of the critically acclaimed The Imaginary and illustrated by award-winning illustrator Levi Pinfold, this is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman.

There May Be a Castle by Piers Torday, published by Hachette

On a frozen Christmas Eve, Mouse Mallory and his family set off across a snow-white valley to visit his grandparents.

As the wheels skid off the icy road, Mouse is thrown from the car. When he wakes, he finds himself in a magical landscape, with only a talkative sheep and a very bossy horse for company.

So begins Mouse’s extraordinary quest through a world of wonder. A world of monsters, minstrels, dangerous knights and mysterious wizards; a world of terrifying danger but also more excitement than Mouse has ever known. But why is Mouse looking for a castle? As thoughts of his family back at the car begin to surface, Mouse realises this might be the most important journey he will ever make…

This is a novel about love and death. It’s about the power of stories to change the way we view the world – and it’s about the power of a child to change their own world. Emotionally arresting but ultimately uplifting, this is a remarkable novel for our times.

Lucky Button by Michael Morpurgo, published by Walker

From award-winning master storyteller Michael Morpurgo, author of the acclaimed War Horse, comes a moving historical story inspired by the Foundling Museum. A lonely boy struggles to cope with school bullies and caring for his mother, until a mysterious encounter reveals life in the Foundling Hospital in the eighteenth century and unravels a touching tale about the power of music. Beautifully illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medal-winning illustrator Michael Foreman.

The Road to Ever After by Moira Young, published by Pan Macmillan

A magical adventure about an unforgettable friendship from Costa Award-winning author Moira Young.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway by Jeff Kinney, published by Puffin

Book 12 is the best yet in the brilliant, bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid series!

Greg Heffley and his family are getting out of town.

With the cold weather setting in and the stress of the Christmas holiday approaching, the Heffleys decide to escape to a tropical island resort for some much-needed rest and relaxation. A few days in paradise should do wonders for Greg and his frazzled family.

But the Heffleys soon discover that paradise isn’t everything it’s cracked up to be. Sun-poisoning, stomach troubles and venomous creatures all threaten to ruin the family’s vacation.

Can their trip be saved, or will this island getaway end in disaster?

Pottymouth and Stoopid by James Patterson, published by Arrow Young

David and his best friend Michael were tagged with awful nicknames way back in preschool when everyone did silly things. Fast-forward to seventh grade: ‘Pottymouth’ and ‘Stoopid’ are still stuck with the names – and everyone in school, including the teachers and their principal, believe the labels are true.

So how do they go about changing everyone’s minds? By turning their misery into megastardom on TV, of course! And this important story delivers more than just laughs – it shows that the worst bullying doesn’t have to be physical, and that things will get better.

Enter our competition for your chance to win a copy of Pottymouth and Stoopid (closes 8th December 2017).

Jacky Ha-Ha: My Life is a Joke, published by Young Arrow

Jacky Hart has found a hidden talent in the performing arts, and she’s a triple threat onstage! She wants nothing more than to act and sing all summer – but her parents have other plans for her. Jacky reluctantly signs up for a summer job in her resort town of Seaside Heights, New Jersey, where tourists come to enjoy the beach and fun carnival atmosphere.

Now she has serious responsibilities like her job and babysitting her younger sisters, but Jacky longs to perform in the summer stock performance of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Can she handle all of her important commitments and still have fun with her friends – or will she learn that juggling isn’t one of her many talents?

For your chance to win a copy of Jacky Ha-Ha: My Life is a Joke, enter our competition by the 8th December 2017.

Ultimate Slime by Alyssa Jagan published by Quarto

Taking a science project to a whole new level, the book encourages children to take an interest in science, craft and even the kitchen! Ultimate Slime has a bonus of using products you would find in your home to make fluffy, crunchy and clear slime.

Alyssa Jagan, popular Canadian Instagram slimer @craftyslimecreator rose to fame with her mesmerizingly sensory videos of slime. At the age of fifteen she has amassed more than 600,000 followers on Instagram, and has had more than one thousand sales on Etsy.

Quarto kids are giving away bundles of books this November. For your chance to win one, which includes a copy of Ultimate Slime, enter our competition (closes 23rd November 2017).

Poppy Pym and the Beastly Blizzard by Laura Wood, published by Scholastic

When a mysterious runaway van crashes into St Smithen’s on the first day of the new school year, Poppy knows it’s going to be an action-packed term! But when accidents continue to happen at St Smithen’s, Poppy can’t shake the feeling that her every move is being watched. With the Christmas holidays looming, secrets lurking in every corner and rumours of a dangerous beast on the loose, Poppy must unravel her biggest mystery yet. Can Poppy unmask the hidden spy before someone gets hurt?

To win a copy of Poppy Pym and the Beastly Blizzard,  click here (competition closes 30th November 2017).

Can Doctor Proctor save Christmas? by Jo Nesbø, published by Simon & Schuster

Can Doctor Proctor, Nilly, and Lisa save Christmas in this new fart-tastically funny adventure from worldwide bestselling author Jo Nesbø?

When the king of Norway sells the rights to Christmas to Mr Thrane, it looks like the holidays aren’t going to be very merry. Mr Thrane says that the only people who can celebrate are those who buy 10,000 crowns worth of presents from his department store. For anyone who doesn’t – or can’t – spend that much, it’s no tree, no presents, no carols, and no Christmas pudding.

​Doctor Proctor, Nilly, and Lisa aren’t going to take this sitting down! They’re going to find Santa and save Christmas. All they need is a sleigh, flying reindeer, some time travel soap, and, of course, some fart powder!

StarFinder for Beginners, published by DK

With a foreword by Maggie Aderin-Pocock, budding astronomers will love this stunning, new approach to stargazing. Featuring step-by-step guides to identifying the key constellations across the northern hemisphere, StarFinder for Beginners makes the night sky easier to navigate than ever before.

From discovering the constellations of the Zodiac to learning about the real-life Milky Way, StarFinder for Beginners will take kids on an exciting journey through the night sky. This simplest-ever guide to star hopping uses easy-to-spot stars to create a route around the night sky’s most famous constellations.

StarFinder for Beginners comes complete with a glow-in-the-dark night-sky viewer, perfect for any budding stargazers to practice their new knowledge of the stars.

Father Christmas’s Fake Beard by Terry Pratchett, published by Doubleday Children’s

A collection of Christmas stories from the fantastically funny Terry Pratchett. With wonderful illustrations from Mark Beech, this is a special, full-colour, collector’s edition.

Have you ever wanted Christmas to be different?

Turkey and carols, presents and crackers they all start to feel a bit  . . . samey.

How about a huge exploding mince pie, a pet abominable snowman, or a very helpful partridge in a pear tree? What if Father Christmas went to work at a zoo, or caused chaos in a toy store or was even arrested for burglary!?

Dive into the fantastically funny world of Terry Pratchett, for a festive treat like no other. These ten stories will have you laughing, gasping and crying (with laughter) you’ll never see Christmas in the same way again.

The Magic Misfits by Neil Patrick-Harris, published by Egmont

The first in a funny and magical new middle grade series from Emmy award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris.

Do you believe in magic?

Carter doesn’t. He knows magic tricks are just that – tricks. And as a street magician he’s also pretty good at them. But then Carter runs away from his conman uncle and he finds himself alone and in danger from dastardly carnival ringleader, B.B. Bosso. He could really use some magic now . . .

A chance encounter with the mysterious Mr Dante Vernon leads Carter to a magic shop, where he teams up with five other like-minded kids and the MAGIC MISFITS are born! Can the gang use their magical talents to save the day and stop B.B. stealing a priceless diamond?

#WorldBookDay