Orchard Books Acquires ‘Seriously Funny’ Debut about a Dangerous Grandma

« Back

Orchard Books, an imprint of Hachette Children’s Group, has acquired the publishing rights for 3 books in the Grandma Dangerous series from children’s animator-turned-author Kita Mitchell.

Grandma Dangerous features the madcap adventures of Ollie and his Grandma-gone-rogue, with exuberant illustrations by Nathan Reed.  In the first book, Grandma Dangerous and The Dog of Destiny, publishing in paperback in June 2018, Grandma steals a fortune-telling hound and sails to Australia in a hot-air balloon to rescue Ollie’s dad from alligators. Her globe-trotting escapades continue to wreak hilarious havoc in books 2 and 3, publishing in 2019.

World rights were acquired from Kate Shaw at The Viney Shaw Agency by Anna Solemani, Senior Editor, Orchard Books. Anna said:

‘Kita Mitchell has created a fast-paced romp for 8 – 10 year olds, ideal for fans of David Solomons and Pamela Butchart. I look forward to unleashing Grandma Dangerous and all the other larger-than-life characters into the world.’

Kate Shaw, Director and Literary Agent at The Viney Shaw Agency, says: Kita is a huge comic talent, combining laugh-out-loud domestic humour with her own unique twist.  Grandma Dangerous is a joyous creation – I am so relieved she is safe inside a book and not in charge of any real kids!’

The debut author, Kita Mitchell

Kita Mitchell, author, says: ‘I love writing for this age group. I take inspiration from real-life situations and characters, exaggerate just a little bit and add plot. I’ve never had so much fun in my life. I am incredibly excited about working with Orchard, who totally get my characters and humour and share my vision for the series.’

Kita studied Design for Film & Animation at Manchester University before beginning a career at the BBC, animating children’s programmes like ‘Eggs & Baker’, and then moving on to work with Channel 4 on ‘Fireman Sam’.  She’s also lectured in Film & Animation before, in 2015, enrolling in the Bath Spa MA in Writing for Young People. Kita graduated from Bath Spa in 2017.

#WorldBookDay