« Back

Juniper Jupiter by Lizzy Stewart, published by Quarto

 Juniper Jupiter is a real-life superhero. It’s no big deal. She’s super brave, super fast, super strong, super smart and she can even fly, but something is missing. What is a hero without an amazing sidekick?

LIZZY STEWART is an illustrator and artist currently based in London. Lizzy graduated from Edinburgh College of Art. She is also one half of independent publishers Sing Statistics and an associate lecturer at Goldsmiths College. Her first book, There’s a Tiger In the Garden, was the winner of the 2017 Waterstones Children’s Book Prize, Illustrated Books Category.

Win a copy of Juniper Jupiter in Quarto’s book bundle competition here.

 The Last Wolf by Mini Grey, published by Penguin Random House

Once upon a time, Little Red set off into the woods to catch a wolf . . .

But the woods aren’t all they seem – and are there even any wolves left? Mini Grey reimagines the classic Little Red Riding Hood fable in an entirely new way. Can Little Red help her new friends in need and recover the wild days of the past? This is a powerful, moving and funny picture book which will have children and adults revisiting its exquisite pages time and time again, and discussing the important message it holds.

From the award-winning author/illustrator of The Adventures of the Dish and the Spoon, The Pea and the Princess and Biscuit Bear.

Cake by Sue Hendra and Paul Linnett, published by Macmillan

Cake has been invited to a party. He’s very excited! He’s never been to a birthday party before. And he doesn’t know what to expect. But as the candles on his party hat begin to burn and the other party guests start to sing, Cake starts to think that this is one party he’d rather not be at . . .

Introducing an irresistibly loveable character, Cake is a brilliantly funny story from the award-winning creators of SupertatoI Need A Wee and Barry the Fish With Fingers. Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet fans will be roaring their support for this delightful picture book hero!

A Bear Is A Bear (except when he’s not) by Karl Newson, illustrated by Anuska Allepuz, published by Nosy Crow

When one sleepy bear wakes up early from his winter sleep, he’s confused. Is he a bird? Or a moose? A fox perhaps? Or even a squirrel? No! He’s definitely a bear, and it’s time this bear went back to sleep… A funny rhyming romp about an adorably baffled bear with an identity crisis.

Splish, Splash, Ducky by Lucy Cousins, published by Walker

Ducky Duckling has so much fun in the rain! Readers will be happy to Splish, splash, and paddle along with Ducky on his adventures with a frog and a worm, a bug and a slug, some swans and some fish. But what happens when the rain stops and Ducky feels sad? Can Dad save the day and bring sunshine back into those “quack, quack, quacks”?

Win a copy of Splish, Splash, Ducky! by entering our competition here.

Mr Men & Little Miss: Little Miss Inventor, published by Egmont

It’s time to meet a new Little Miss who is intelligent, ingenious and inventive. Little Miss Inventor is as bright as a button. In fact, she’s as bright as two buttons and can invent the most extraordinary things for her friends. But her greatest challenge yet has her stumped, what on earth could she invent for Mr Rude?!

How Many Kisses? and Who’s the Biggest? By Delphine Chedru, published by Thames & Hudson

How Many Kisses? and Who’s the Biggest? Are two new titles in a stylish new series that teaches basic concepts in a fun and interactive way.  

One, two, three – pucker up! How Many Kisses? is an alternative counting book for pre-schoolers that taps into the common impulse young children have to physically embrace the things they love.

A bold and distinctive book that teaches children about size by simply asking, ‘Who’s the biggest?’

Duplo Braille Farm, published by DK

A high-quality LEGO® DUPLO® book with braille and tactile images for blind and partially sighted parents and children to share with their sighted family members.

Produced in consultation with braille experts, this LEGO DUPLO board book explores a LEGO DUPLO farm with animals including pigs, ducks, chickens, cows, sheep and horses. It combines high contrast colours with embossed images of the models for children to feel. Large-size text is printed alongside the braille, enabling sighted children to share the bonding experience of reading with their visually impaired parents, or for sighted parents to share with their visually impaired children.

The Woolies: Follow the Footprints by Kelly McKain and illustrated by Jon Stuart, published by OUP

When Baby Woolly sees some unfamiliar footprints on the path, he decides to follow them with Zip. It’s just the start of a really big adventure full of imagination and awesome contraptions.

Great Bunny Bakes by Ellie Snowdon, published by Simon & Schuster

Aprons on, recipes at the ready – it’s time for the biggest, bestest, bunniest baking competition. Only – who is this strangely dressed contestant?!

Quentin is a wolf with a very unusual hobby. He loves to bake! So when he accidentally receives an invitation to take part in a Great Bunny Baking competition he’ll do anything to enter. Masterfully disguised (ahem) as a bunny, Quentin sails through round after round with his peerless pastry and heavenly honeybun tower. But soon he has to contend with a jealous fellow contestant. And when he slips and drops his Showstopping Chocolate Cake it looks like all his work has been in vain . . .

But all is not as it seems in this tale of hidden identity, bravura baking and unexpected kindness.

An irresistible picture book from fabulous new talent, Ellie Snowdon, with witty text and stunning classic-yet-contemporary illustrations.

Spot Goes to the Swimming Pool by Eric Hill, published by Penguin

Have fun with Spot and discover new experiences together. Spot is going to the swimming pool with Mum and his smart new rubber ring. At first he feels a little nervous, but with a bit of support from Mum and friends soon Spot is splashing about and having a whale of a time!

Elmer and the Lost Teddy by David McKee, published by Andersen

All teddies are special, especially your own.

When Baby Elephant can’t sleep because he has lost his teddy, Elmer sets out to find it. A stunning new board book edition of one of David McKee’s best-selling and endearing Elmer titles.

The Koala Who Could by Rachel Bright and Jim Field, published by Hachette

A glorious board book edition of the award-winning The Koala Who Could – a feel-good rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change. Perfect for fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can’t Dance.

Sometimes change comes along whether we like it or not . . . but if you let it, change can be the making of you. Kevin the Koala discovers this and more in this delightful picture book from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside!