« Back

The Fox on the Swing by Eveline Daciute and Ausra Kiudulaite, published by Thames & Hudson

Once upon a time a boy called Paul lived in a treehouse with his mother and father.
One day a fox appeared in Paul’s life – and when a fox comes into your life, Anything can happen.

This sensitive story about friendship, dreams and happiness was written by Evelina Daciute and illustrated by Ausra Kiudulaite. It tells the story of Paul and the fox, whom he encounters one day when out buying bread for the family, and how their relationship begins, develops and shifts. The book demonstrates the importance of seeking happiness in the little things of life.

Stick and Fetch Investigate: Barking Up The Wrong Tree by Philip Ardagh and Elissa Elwick, published by Walker

Sally loves nothing more than investigating a good mystery – and her shaggy canine companion, Fetch, loves nothing more than to be at her side when she does. There’s just one small problem: they always gets the wrong end of the stick! The hapless pair remain undeterred, however, dashing from one crime scene to another on their bicycle, leaving a trail of destruction in their wake … yet always emerging blissfully unaware. A fun, madcap trio of stories featuring two loveable heroes with a LOT of hair.

Win a copy of Barking Up The Wrong Tree in our competition here.

 Flying Fergus 8: Trouble on the Track by Chris Hoy and Joanna Nadin, illustrated by Clare Elsom, published by Bonnier

The fantastically fun, magical cycling adventure series from Sir Chris Hoy.

It’s decision time for Fergus and the rest of the squad. Training together has been going well but the International Championships are nearly here, and it’s time to name the four riders who will be in the starting line-up. The coaches decide the only fair thing to do is hold official trials to decide who’s in – and who’s out. It’s neck and neck for Fergus and Daisy after the Keirin and the road race . . . and with just one race to go, tensions in the teams are riding high. . .

Written with award-winning author Joanna Nadin, with fantastic illustrations from Clare Elsom, Flying Fergus is perfect for bike-mad boys and girls and fans of the Frankie’s Magic Football series.

To be in with a chance of winning 1 of 10 copies of Trouble on the Track, enter our competition here.

Nature Explorer Butterflies and Moths, published by DK

A fantastic first book on butterflies and moths, this is the perfect companion for bug hunters ages 6 and up eager to understand how caterpillars become butterflies.

Nature Explorer Butterflies and Moths encourages little explorers to get outside and covers everything you need to know about these critters, including cocoons, wings, caterpillars, and eggs. Children can learn about butterflies and moths from all over the world, from their very own gardens to woodland, mountains, rainforest, desert, and even the Arctic.  With exciting activities, like how to make a butterfly kite, and plenty of fun facts, this beautiful book is a must for children curious about butterflies and moths.

Isadora Moon Goes to the Fair by Harriet Muncaster, published by OUP

Isadora is excited for her first ever trip to the fun fair, but when she arrives it’s not quite as magical as she expected. Luckily, her cousin Mirabelle has a plan to make the fairground rides extra special. What could possibly go wrong?

Stanley in Space by Jeff Brown and illustrated by Rob Biddulph, published by Egmont

The hilarious and magical adventures of everyone’s favourite flat hero – Flat Stanley. With brilliant new illustrations by the award-winning author/illustrator Rob Biddulph.

Stanley is now so famous the President of the United States calls him to send him on a special mission to space!
Life in space is exciting at first what with TV appearances and zero gravity. But soon the Lambchops start to worry that the journey is taking too long. And will the aliens be as friendly as the President has promised?

Also available this month: Stanley, Flat Again!

Max the Detective Cat: The Disappearing Diva by Sarah Todd Taylor, illustrated by Nicola Kinnear, published by Nosy Crow

With a beautifully fluffy tail and a keen nose for adventure, Max the Detective Cat is ready for any mystery…

Maximilian is a pampered cat, used to the finer things in life, until a fun mouse chase goes badly wrong and he finds himself scruffy and alone and hiding out at the Theatre Royal.

It’s here that Max takes on his first case as a detective cat, when he notices that famous singer Madame Emerald is acting strangely. Why is her maid so terrified? And what kind of singer doesn’t like to sing in public? Soon Max is trapped in a complicated web of crime, dashing round dancers’ legs and over the rooftops of London in a race to catch a clever thief…

The Tale of Johnny Town Mouse: Gold Centenary Edition by Beatrix Potter, published by Warne

 Do you ever feel that the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence? Well, so did Johnny Town-Mouse and Timmy Willie. One was a town mouseand one was a country mouse, and when they end up in each other’s worlds they soon discover that they were much happier where they started!

The Tale of Johnny Town-Mouse is number 13 in Beatrix Potter’s charming series of 23 little books. This series includes some of the best-loved characters of children’s literature: Peter Rabbit, Squirrel Nutkin, Mr. Jeremy Fisher, Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle, Jemima Puddle-Duck, and many more!

Imagine by John Lennon, published by Quarto

An inspiring story of peace, set to the world’s best-loved song.

Now in paperback. IMAGINE tells the story of one little pigeon whose mission is to spread the word of peace, friendship, kindness, understanding and freedom around the world. The pigeon’s message of hope is amplified by Jean Jullien’s pitch-perfect illustrations and while this is principally a children’s picture book, its words and theme resonate with all generations.

John Lennon was a singer, songwriter, peace and human rights activist, author, artist, and continues to be a worldwide inspiration. The illustrator, Jean Jullien is a French graphic artist currently living in London. Yoko Ono Lennon is an artist whose thought-provoking work challenges people’s understanding of art and the world around them.

Win a copy of Imagine in Quarto’s book bundle competition here.

Brightstorm: A Sky-Ship Adventure by Vashti Hardy, published by Scholastic

Twins Arthur and Maudie receive word in Lontown that their famous explorer father died in a failed attempt to reach South Polaris. Not only that, but he has been accused of trying to steal fuel from his competitors before he died! The twins don’t believe the news, and they answer an ad to crew a new exploration attempt, headed by the vivacious Captain Harriet Culpepper, in the hope of learning the truth and repairing their family’s reputation. As the winged ship Aurora sets sail, the twins must keep their wits about them and prove themselves worthy of the rest of the crew. Will Arthur and Maudie find the evidence they need to prove their father’s innocence? And can one-armed Arthur discover where he fits in the world?

Win a copy of Brightstorm here.

Pigeon P.I. by Meg McLaren, published by Andersen

 Pigeon private investigator Murray just wants to take things easy, but when kind-hearted Vee starts to sing like a canary (after all, she is a canary) he can’t hold out. Murray agrees to find the feather thief who has kidnapped her friends, but his change of heart comes too late: now Vee herself has gone missing. Can Murray find the mysterious feather thief and save his new friend, or is her goose cooked?

A dramatic tale of detective fiction from rising picture book star Meg McLaren.

Fabio the World’s Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo by Laura James with illustrations by Emily Fox, published by Bloomsbury

In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world’s greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio. He’s not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he’s very, very clever. When Fabio and his giraffe associate Gilbert (terrible at disguises) drop in to the Hotel Royale for a lemonade (pink, naturally), Fabio is persuaded to judge the hotel’s talent contest. But when the most promising contestant – Julia the jazz-singing hippopotamus – goes missing, Fabio must put his thinking cap back on and solve the mystery!

This new mystery series from Laura James, author of Captain Pug, will have animal lovers and would-be detectives in stitches. Perfect for fans of Claude, Foxy Tales and The Pink Panther.

Go Mo Go: Seaside Print! by Mo Farah and Kes Gray and Marta Kissi, published by Hachette

Mo and his friends pack a lunch and head to the seaside for their next running adventure. It’s a good job they have good trainers to run along the beach. But what’s that? Could it really be a sea monster? RUN!

Follow Mo on his madcap adventures as his running skills go from strength to strength.

Royal Rabbits of London: Escape From the Tower by Santa and Simon Sebag Montefiore, illustrated by Kate Hindley, published by Simon & Schuster

Life is an adventure. Anything in the world is possible – by will and by luck, with a moist carrot, a wet nose and a slice of mad courage!

Little Shylo Tawny-Tail is proud to call himself one of the Royal Rabbits of London, a secret order who live under Buckingham Palace and fight evil across the world. But high up in London’s famous skyscraper, the Shard, the horrible Ratzis are plotting to cause chaos during a visit from the President of the United States. And when the Grand Burrow is attacked and Shylo is kidnapped, it looks as though they might just manage it! Can Shylo escape in time to save the day?

Peter Rabbit: Based on the Major New Movie, published by Penguin

Peter Rabbit is hopping into cinemas in spring 2018. A live action / CGI animated adventure comedy, starring James Corden (the voice of Peter Rabbit), Domhnall Gleeson (Mr. McGregor) and Rose Byrne (McGregor’s animal loving neighbour, Bea).

This action-packed chapter book is based on the major new movie, so you can relive the best moments of the film.

Peter Rabbit is always breaking into Old Mr McGregor’s garden and stealing his vegetables. And it’s always getting him into trouble! But everything is about to change . . . Will Peter finally be able to take control of the vegetable patch, or will someone stand in his way?