Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

NEW BOOKS IN AUGUST 12+

« Back

[New books in August for 0-5, 5-8 and 8-12]

Girl in the Window, by Penny Joelson, published by Egmont

See the world from another unique perspective in the thrilling new novel from the award-winning author of I Have No Secrets.

Nothing ever happens on Kasia’s street. And Kasia would know, because her illness makes her spend days stuck at home, watching the world from her bedroom window. So when she sees what looks like a kidnapping, she’s not sure whether she can believe her own eyes . . .

There was a girl in the window opposite – did she see something too? But when Kasia goes to find her she is told the most shocking thing of all.

There is no girl.

Only Love Can Break Your Heart, by Katherine Webber, published by Walker Books

WARNING: Contains mentions of grief, and mild sexual activity.

For fans of Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything and Sara Barnard’s Beautiful Broken Things.

Sometimes a broken heart is all you need to set you free… Reiko loves the endless sky and electric colours of the Californian desert. It is a refuge from an increasingly claustrophobic life of family pressures and her own secrets. Then she meets Seth, a boy who shares a love of the desert and her yearning for a different kind of life. But Reiko and Seth both want something the other can’t give them. As summer ends, things begin to fall apart. But the end of love can sometimes be the beginning of you…

Listen to our podcast with Katherine Webber

Are We All Lemmings & Snowflakes? by Holly Bourne, published by Usborne

Welcome to Camp Reset, a summer camp with a difference. A place offering a shot at “normality” for Olive, a girl on the edge, and for the new friends she never expected to make – who each have their own reasons for being there. Luckily Olive has a plan to solve all their problems. But how do you fix the world when you can’t fix yourself?

A raw and compelling exploration of mental health, friendship and the power of compassion from the acclaimed Holly Bourne.

Enter our competition to win a copy (closes 31st August 2018)

The Lost Witch, by Melvin Burgess, published by Andersen Press

Bea has started to hear and see things that no one else can – creatures, voices, visions. Then strangers visit Bea and tell her she is different: she has the rare powers of a witch. They warn her she is being hunted. Her parents think she is hallucinating and needs help. All Bea wants to do is get on with her life, and to get closer to Lars, the mysterious young man she has met at the skate park. But her life is in danger, and she must break free. The question is – who can she trust?

Carnegie Medal-winner Melvin Burgess returns with a powerful, thrilling fantasy for young adults about magic, myth and following your instincts.

My [Secret] YouTube Life, by Charlotte Seager published by Macmillan Children’s Books

What if your favourite YouTuber’s life was a lie?

What if you were the one to expose it?

YouTuber LilyLoves has an amazing life: a rockstar boyfriend, a totally Insta-worthy London flat and a collection of beauty products that seems to grow daily (thanks, PO Box).

Sixteen-year-old Melissa’s life is way less amazing – LilyLoves is the only thing getting her through it. She’s Lily’s biggest fan and spends hours each night watching her videos and liking her posts. Melissa wants that life for herself – or at least to look like she has it . . .

As Melissa starts to grow in confidence – and followers – she discovers a crushing secret about Lily – the ultimate YouTube lie. Does she share Lily’s secret and crush her fame? Or will they both continue to live a lie – both online and off?

We See Everything by William Sutcliffe, published by Bloomsbury

A gripping and powerfully relevant thriller set in a reimagined London where constant surveillance is the norm, We See Everything simmers with tension and emotion. From internationally bestselling author William Sutcliffe, this is perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman.

Lex lives on The Strip – the overcrowded, closed-off, bombed-out shell of London. He’s used to the watchful enemy drones that buzz in the air above him.

Alan’s talent as a gamer has landed him the job of his dreams. At a military base in a secret location, he is about to start work as a drone pilot.

These two young men will never meet, but their lives are destined to collide. Because Alan has just been assigned a high-profile target. Alan knows him only as #K622. But Lex calls him Dad.

Read an extract

Silent Weapon – a Street Soldier Novel, by Andy McNab, published by Corgi Childrens

The second instalment in Andy McNab’s Street Solder Series. HOW DO YOU FIGHT AN INVISIBLE ENEMY? A high-speed chase through the backstreets of Lagos and an unexpected bomb explosion in the jungle – it’s all in a day’s work for soldier Sean Harker. Looking forward to a well-earned break back home, Sean and his platoon fly back to the UK, only to find themselves fighting their way out of an airport hostage situation, and the country on high terrorist alert. Barely escaping with his life, Sean must now embark on a dangerous mission: to locate a deadly weapon, capable of destruction on a massive scale… a weapon no one will see coming.

Jinxed, by Amy McCulloch, published by Simon & Schuster Children’s

The brand-new series from the author of the magical POTION DIARIES adventures!

Lacey Chu has big dreams of working for the company behind the  ‘baku’ – a customizable smart pet that functions as a phone but makes the perfect companion for its user. The only problem is, she’s just been rejected from Profectus Acade

my – the elite academy for cutting-edge tech.

Then Lacey meets Jinx… Jinx is an incredibly advanced cat baku who opens up a world that Lacey never new existed, including entry into the hallowed halls of Profectus. But what is Jinx, really? His abilities far surpass anything written into his coded. He seems to be more than just a robotic pet.

He seems… real.

Enter our competition to win a copy (closes 31st August 2018)

Greek Gods and Heroes, by Sylvie Baussierillustrated by Almasty, published by Wide Eyed Editions

In this fun title, 40 gods, goddesses, heroes and heroines of Greek Mythology are waiting to be discovered, including Gaia, Zeus, Prometheus, Pandora, Athena, Antigone, Orpheus, Helen and Achilles. Each portrait includes the person’s genealogy, allies and enemies, history and the myths associated with them. This title will be joining the successful 40 Inspiring icons series, from which Fantastic Footballers and People of Peace came from.

Sylvie Baussier studied General Literature before becoming an editor of encyclopaedias and a journalist. She now devotes herself fully to the work of writing for children. She lives in France.

Almasty is a creative agency specialising in art direction, editorial design, animation, illustration and yeti sightings. Their clients include Usbek and Rica magazine, EDF and ArteAlmasty is based in Paris.

 Also publishing this month, Music Legends

    

Record Breakers, published by DK

Amazing facts about people, animals, Earth, and space pack this fantastic book of world records.

Record Breakers brings you the first, fastest, longest, largest, biggest, and best records in the world. Track the longest shark migration (20,000 km/12,400 miles); visit the coolest place on the planet (Vostok Station, Antarctica: a chilling -89.2ºC/-128.6ºF); see how plane pioneer Chuck Yeager first broke the sound barrier, and so much more. Find out all about the best of everything!

That’s Not What Happened, by Kody Keplinger, published by Hachette

It’s been three years since the Virgil County High School Massacre. Three years since my best friend, Sarah, was killed in a bathroom stall during the mass shooting. Everyone knows Sarah’s story – that she died proclaiming her faith.

But it’s not true.

I know because I was with her when she died. I didn’t say anything then, and people got hurt because of it. Now Sarah’s parents are publishing a book about her, so this might be my last chance to set the record straight . . . but I’m not the only survivor with a story to tell about what did – and didn’t – happen that day.

Except Sarah’s martyrdom is important to a lot of people, people who don’t take kindly to what I’m trying to do. And the more I learn, the less certain I am about what’s right. I don’t know what will be worse: the guilt of staying silent or the consequences of speaking up…

Catwoman: Soulstealer (DC Icons series), by Sarah J Maas, published by Penguin

When the Bat’s away, the Cat will play. It’s time to see how many lives this cat really has…

Two years after escaping Gotham City’s slums, Selina Kyle returns as the mysterious and wealthy Holly Vanderhees. She quickly discovers that with Batman off on a vital mission, Batwing is left to hold back the tide of notorious criminals. Gotham City is ripe for the taking.

Meanwhile, Luke Fox wants to prove he has what it takes to help people in his role as Batwing. He targets a new thief on the prowl who seems cleverer than most. She has teamed up with Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn, and together they are wreaking havoc. This Catwoman may be Batwing’s undoing.

In this third DC Icons book–following Leigh Bardugo’s Wonder Woman:

Warbringer and Marie Lu’s Batman: Nightwalker–Selina is playing a desperate game of cat and mouse, forming unexpected friendships and entangling herself with Batwing by night and her devilishly handsome neighbor Luke Fox by day.

But with a dangerous threat from the past on her tail, will she be able to pull off the heist that’s closest to her heart?

Show Stealer, by Hayley Barker, published by Scholastic

Hoshiko and Ben have been on the run since they burned Silvio Sabatini’s circus down to the ground at the explosive finale of SHOW STOPPER. But Ben’s mother will stop at nothing to track him down and get her revenge: backing him into a corner where he is forced to sacrifice himself to save Hoshiko. The deadliest show on earth has been resurrected and if Ben thought he’d seen into its dark corners as an outsider, the true extent of the horrors that lurk beneath the Big Top are about to be revealed as he becomes the circus’ new star attraction…

#WorldBookDay