Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

NEW BOOKS IN AUGUST 5-8

« Back

[New books in August for 0-5, 8-12 and 12+]

Once Upon A Wild Wood, by Chris Riddell, published by Macmillan Children’s Books

A richly imagined story from the award-winning Chris Riddell, packed full of familiar fairy tale characters as you’ve never seen them before.

Little Green Raincape is on her way to Rapunzel’s party, deep in the wild woods. The way is long and dark, but Green is a smart girl. Smart enough to turn down apples offered by kindly old ladies, smart enough to turn down travel advice from helpful wolves, and above all, smart enough to solve a wealth of classic fairy tale problems – not least mend a lovelorn beast’s broken heart.

Once Upon a Wild Wood is a richly imagined story packed full of familiar fairy tale characters as you’ve never seen them before. Including Red Riding Hood, Thumbelina, Rapunzel, Beauty and the Beast, Cinderella, the three bears, the seven dwarfs and many more!

A visual feast on every page, illustrated with warmth and humour and full of witty details to discover – this is Chris Riddell at his picture book best!

EXCLUSIVE EXHIBITION: Norfolk and Norwich Millennium Library and Macmillan Children’s Books are delighted to be working together to host an exhibition of Chris Riddell’s artwork. The exclusive exhibition will feature original paintings from Once Upon a Wild Wood – the first that he has authored and illustrated in over eight years. The ‘Once Upon a Wild Wood’ exhibition will run from 1st-31st August with FREE entry for all the family, open Monday-Friday 10am-7pm, Saturday 9am-7pm, and Sunday 10.30am-4.30pm.

The Skies Above My Eyes, by Charlotte Gullain and illustrated by Yuval Zommer published by Words & Pictures

Have you ever looked up and wondered what’s going on high up in the skies above your eyes?

Take a journey up into the air, through the atmosphere, way out into space, and back down to Earth in this richly illustrated concertina book.

Zoom past the technology that fills our skies, from helicopters, fighter jets, weather balloons, to satellites, hang-gliders and hot-air balloons. Discover the insects and animals that whizz through the skies, explore the layers of the atmosphere, and travel through the solar system and out to the galaxies far beyond.

The follow up to The Street Beneath My Feet, which dug down to the centre of the Earth, this expansive concertina book opens out to an impressive 2.5 metres, perfect for inquisitive young minds.

Good Knight, Bad Knight and the Big Game, by Tom Knight, published by Templar Publishing

Last term, Berkley Paggle ( AKA Bad Knight) defeated a dragon at the end-of-term jousting match. When he comes back to school, he discovers that his dragon battling abilities have made him the most popular kid in class. He loves the attention, but his cousin, Godwin (AKA Good Knight), is not impressed when Berk lets his popularity go to his head.

Tom Knight, author and illustrator of Good Knight, Bad Knight and Jimmy Finnigan’s Wild Wood Band, returns with mid-grade fiction featuring the same characters and armour-splittingly funny humour.

Enter our competition to win a copy (closes 31st August 2018)

Cinderfella by Malachy Doyle and illustrated by Matt Hunt, published by Walker Books

Once upon a time, there lived Cinderfella – a little boy, forever bossed around by his two older brothers, Gus and Gareth. “Turn up the TV! Shine our scooters!” the brothers cry. “Finish our homework!” But on the day of our story, Kayleig

h, the town’s kick-fastic karate champion, is having a party, and Cinderfella is determined to dream big, dress fancy and DANCE. He’ll just need a little help along the way from his fairy dog-mother, Ruff – woof! A feel-good twist on the classic fairytale, brought to life with fresh vision and huge humour by Matt Hunt.

My Mixed Emotions, published by DK

This super-useful book is packed with helpful hints, tips, and techniques showing children how to recognize and express their emotions. Feelings can be tricky, so My Mixed Emotions in partnership with Place2Be is here to coach children through a variety of situations including dealing with bullying, grief, and how to cope if your family splits up. My Mixed Emotions will become a friend and guide as children travel through the mixed-up world of emotions to discover the wonderful, unique person that they are.

Mice Around the World, by Ami Shin, published by Thames & Hudson

Join Stanley the Mouse as he sets out on a trip around the world aboard Mrs Crombie’s airship! Readers will visit sixteen different locations, including London, Paris, New York, Tokyo, Rio de Janeiro, Beijing, Mexico City, the Great Barrier Reef, Moscow, Rome, Delhi, Namibia’s Etosha National Park, Seoul, the Black Forest, Amsterdam and Barcelona. Hidden on every spread is a local food, flag, dress and greeting for children to spot – plus one very naughty black-and-white cat who is prone to all sorts of mischief…

Teeming with mice and packed full of iconic monuments, this is a journey children will never forget.

Violet and the Mystery of Tiger Island, by Harriet Whitehorn, published by Simon & Schuster Children’s

Can YOU solve the case of Tiger Island? Join Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making, on her fifth adventure…

Violet and her friends can’t believe their luck when they’re invited to a wedding on a tropical island. But when old enemies the Du Plicitouses show up at the same hotel, and a valuable figurine goes missing, Violet is sure the sneaky family are behind it. It’s a race against time – and a hungry tiger – to uncover the truth and make sure the big day goes to plan.

Mummy Fairy and Me: Fairy-in-Waiting, by Sophie Kinsella, published by Puffin

Hello. I’m called Ella Brook and I live in a town called Cherrywood. My best friends at school are Tom and Lenka. My worst enemy is Zoe. And then there is my mummy. She looks normal, like any other mummy . . . but she’s not.

Because she can turn into a fairy. She just has to shut her eyes tight, say ‘Marshmallow’ . . . and POOF! She’s Mummy Fairy.

Ella’s family has a big secret – her mummy is a fairy! She can do amazing spells with her computawand. Only, sometimes the spells go a bit wrong, and that’s when Ella steps in to the rescue. In this brand-new book of magical adventures, there are very naughty monkeys, a swimming pool filled with ice cream, and the best birthday party ever – complete with giant cakes and fairy dust.

Oscar and the CATastrophe, by Alan MacDonald, illustrated by Sarah Horne, published by Egmont

The third book in a brilliantly funny new series from bestselling Dirty Bertie author Alan MacDonald. Perfect for fans of Spydog, Jeremy Strong and Horrid Henry.

Sam had a very ordinary life, until Oscar the dog arrived on his doorstep. Because Oscar has a big secret – he can talk! Oscar usually has a lot to say on any subject, but in this book something makes him speechless . . . a CAT has moved in next door!

But Sam and Oscar have bigger things to worry about. When a jewel thief strikes, it’s time for the daring duo to turn detective . . . Can they sniff out the culprit before it’s too late?

Daisy and the Trouble with School Trips, by Kes Gray, published by Red Fox

Daisy is on a school trip. With lots of other children and few teachers. Daisy likes being out of school. Daisy also likes TROUBLE!

The brand new DAISY adventure from Kes Gray.

Enchantimals: Best Friends Forever, by Enchantimals, published by Hachette

Meet the Enchantimals of Wonderwood and their animal besties! Keepers of their forest home, they maintain balance, peace and harmony amongst all living things.

When Patter Peacock and her bestie, Flap, get washed away from their home, they end up in Wonderwood. They meet four new friends who show them the sights and make Patter feel right at home. Flap feels homesick and doesn’t want to stay, but Patter doesn’t seem to notice. When Flap tries to make his way home alone, Patter and her new friends race to find him, and realise that home is where your friends are.

Trouble on the Farm, by Chris Higgins, illustrated by Emily MacKenzie, published by Bloomsbury

Bella is going to visit a farm! Tom and Kizzy have invited her to spend the day at their place. She’ll get to meet the cows, play with Fetch the dog, see the big red tractor and pick raspberries with her new friends. But at the last minute, someone else comes to the farm too – Magda! Before she knows it, Bella’s visit turns into a tractor-crash involving runaway farm animals, too many pasties, an unexpected wedding and lots and lots of cow poo!

Billy and the Mini Monsters: Monsters at the Museum, by Zanna Davidson, illustrated by Melanie Williamson, published by Usborne

Billy is feeling nervous about his FIRST EVER school trip, so the Mini Monsters decide to come along too. They promise not to be any trouble…but who’s causing a commotion in the creepy-crawly cages? Why does the T. rex skeleton keep moving? And Billy can’t help wondering about the really tiny Egyptian mummies… Can he save the trip from disaster?

Enter our competition to win a copy (closes on 31st August 2018)

#WorldBookDay