Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

NEW BOOKS IN AUGUST 8-12

« Back

[New books in August for 0-5, 5-8 and 12+]

Peril in Paris, by Katherine Woodfine, published by Egmont

ALL ABOARD THE TRAIN TO PARIS! It’s 1911, and the young detectives of TAYLOR & ROSE are turning their talents to ESPIONAGE.

On a case for the mysterious SECRET SERVICE BUREAU, the daring MISS SOPHIE TAYLOR and MISS LILIAN ROSE must leave London for the boulevards and grand hotels of Paris.

But DANGER lurks beneath the bright lights of the city – and INTRIGUE and MURDER lie in store. As aeroplanes soar in the skies overhead, our heroines will need to put all their spy skills to the test to face the PERIL that awaits them…

Join Sophie and Lil on their FIRST secret agent adventure!

Johnny and the Bomb, by Terry Pratchett, published by Corgi Childrens

From the legendary Terry Pratchett, the author of Discworld, the third instalment in the Johnny Maxwell Trilogy.

THIS TIME…IT’S WAR. Johnny Maxwell is just an ordinary boy, walking through an ordinary alley… until he stumbles across a shopping trolley that can travel back in time. And when Jonny and friends find themselves in 1941, in the middle of the Second World War, they know that on this day German bombs will fall on their hometown. What if Johnny and his friends could stop it? And what if tampering with history had disastrous consequences…

The Pony With No Name by Tracey Corderoy, published by Simon & Schuster Children’s

From bestselling Tracey Corderoy – author of the Hubble Bubble and Shifty McGifty series – comes an enchanting new series.

Bryony May doesn’t want to move house, even if it is to a sweet cottage by the sea. Not when she has to leave everyone behind – her school friends and her four-legged friends at the local riding stables.

Then, while exploring the woods near her new home, Bryony meets a beautiful bay pony. The pony is seriously spooked but luckily Bryony is able to calm him down. Afterwards she can’t stop thinking about the little pony so when they unexpectedly meet again days later, she knows it’s meant to be.

That is, until she meets Georgina… Georgina’s supposed to be the pony’s owner, but she doesn’t seem to care a bit about him. She hasn’t even given him a name! But for some reason she’s determined to keep Bryony away.

Will Bryony ever get close to her dream pony?

The Day I Became The Most Wanted Boy In The World, by Tom McLaughlin, published by Walker Books

Nine year old Pete is about to have the worst day ever in this hilarious adventure, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. There’s nothing Pete loves more than sitting at home, being quiet and watching the snooker. But when he accidentally bumps into a local gangster, Pete and his super annoying next door neighbour, Sammy, are caught up in a series of events that get worse and worse at each and every turn. Now Pete is in a race against time to prove his innocence – but it’s tricky to do that, especially when everyone thinks that you’re the most wanted boy in the world.

The You Are Awesome Journal, by Matthew Syed, published by Hachette

 Boys and girls everywhere have been discovering that they can be awesome thanks to bestselling author Matthew Syed. Now he’s created an interactive journal full of life hacks, challenges and activities to give kids the confidence to come up with their own plan of action to be the best they can be. Because, with the right mindset, you really CAN do (almost) anything, whether you want to supercharge your maths, try out for the team or be the first person to walk on Mars.

Whether setting out their goals, planning the best practice ever, keeping calm with breathing exercises or making paper aeroplanes to understand marginal gains, readers will love the brilliant activities in . This is the perfect toolkit for anyone who dreams big – and who wants to make those dreams come true.

Great Adventurers, by Alastair Humphreys and Kevin Ward, published by Big Picture press

Hand-selected by Alastair Humpreys, read about the incredible journeys undertaken by twenty of the most heroic and impressive explorers who ever lived, including Ibn Battuta (14th-century explorer); Apsley Cherry-Garrard (a member of Scott’s Antarctic expedition); Michael Collins (Apollo Moon mission astronaut) and Nellie Bly (who travelled round the world in less than 80 days).

A wide-spread selection of explorers from young to old, male to female and with a range of abilities, these explorers crossed land, sea and sky in the name of adventure and may just inspire readers aged 7+ to do the same. Alastair Humphreys was named National Geographic Adventurer of the Year in 2012 for his work on the concept of microadventures.

Not So Normal Norbert, by James Patterson and Joey Green, published by Arrow  

Norbert Riddle lives in the United State of Earth, where normal means following the rules, never standing out, and being exactly the same as everyone else. He’s been normal his whole life – until a moment of temporary hilarity when he does a funny impression of the country’s dictator … and gets caught!

Now Norbert’s been banished to the Astronuts Camp on planet Zorquat 3, where kids who defy the rules are exiled forever. He’s been taught his whole life that different is wrong, but everyone at Astronuts seems crazy creative … or are they just plain crazy?

Enter our competition to win a copy (closes 6th September 2018)

The 104-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths, illustrated by Terry Denton, published by Macmillan Children’s Books

The 104-Storey Treehouse is the eighth book of Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton’s wacky treehouse adventures, where the laugh-out-loud story is told through a combination of text and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations.

Join Andy and Terry in their now 104-storey spectacular treehouse. They’ve added thirteen new levels, including a never-ending staircase, a burp bank, and even a mighty fortress.  But Andy and Terry are in a race against time to find a funny story for their next book – will the tooth fairy, the two-million-dollar shop or even the riddles of the deep-thoughts thinking room be able to help?

Athena: The Story of a Goddess, by Imogen Greenberg, illustrated by Isabel Greenberg, published by Bloomsbury

Discover the adventures of Athena, the ancient Greek goddess of wisdom, war and courage. From her extraordinary birth – sprung from the head of her father, in the midst of a thunderous headache – to her refusal to take no for an answer. Find out how she inspired powerful gods, goddesses and humans and the terrifying fate of those who dared to cross her path.

Follow Athena as she competes against her bad-tempered uncle; watch as she turns her enemy into a spider and join her as she keeps Odysseus safe on his remarkable journey home.

Prepare to be amazed as you uncover the story of one of the most fearless ancient goddesses, and the tales of a world where humans, gods and goddesses could meet. Illustrated and written by the brilliantly talented sister duo, Isabel and Imogen Greenberg, this is a story of daring for goddesses-in-the-making.

The Guggenheim Mystery, by Robin Stevens and Siobhan Dowd, published by Puffin

My name is Ted Spark. Three months ago, I solved the mystery of how my cousin Salim disappeared from a pod on the London Eye. This is the story of my second mystery.

This summer, I went on holiday to New York, to visit Aunt Gloria and Salim. While I was there, a painting was stolen from the Guggenheim Museum, where Aunt Gloria works. Then Aunt Gloria was blamed for the theft, and I realised just how important it was to find the painting, and discover who really had taken it.

The Middle of Nowhere, by Geraldine McCaughrean, published by Usborne

When her mother dies from a snake bite, Comity’s life in the Australian outback changes for ever. Now the only person Comity can count on is her friend, Fred, the Aboriginal yard boy. But when her father’s new assistant, the cruel and sadistic Quartz Hogg arrives, he sets his bloodthirsty sights on Fred, and Comity has to find a way to stop him.

Enter our competition to win a copy (closes 31st August 2018)

Children’s Illustrated History Atlas, published by DK

Bring history to life with more than 40 colourful maps in this children’s atlas full of fascinating nuggets of information about our past. This beautiful history atlas helps children learn about world history all the way from the first people leaving Africa right up to how the world looks now, with a modern world map. Journey around the world and learn its history, with maps showing everything from the awe-inspiring Great Wall of China to the when and how of the US Civil War.

Voyage through Space by Katie Flint, illustrated by Cornelia Lei, published by Wide Eyed Editions

Join one little astronaut and her space dog as they voyage through our solar system and see space as you’ve never seen it before!  Journey from the sun, to the planets, asteroids and Kuiper belt, before folding out your glow-in-the-dark poster. Simply turn off the light to bring the incredible glow-in-the-dark ink to life.

 Katie Flint is an author and editor working at Lincoln Children’s books and Wide Eyed Editions.

 Cornelia Li is a Chinese born illustrator currently based in Toronto, Canada. Her clients include: New York Times, Chicago Readers, PBS Newshour, Reader’s Digest Canada.

#WorldBookDay