Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

New Books in January 2019 (0-5)

« Back

[New books in January for 5-8, 8-12, 12+]

Peppa Pig: Peppa the Mermaid, published by Ladybird

Peppa invites all of her friends round to her house for an under-the-sea fancy dress party, with a swimming disco, starfish-shaped sandwiches and a real beach! The only problem is, Mummy and Daddy Pig aren’t prepared for this at all! Luckily, Miss Rabbit, Emergency Party Planner and Entertainer Extraordinaire, comes to the rescue and make all of Peppa’s under-the-sea dreams come true!

We Eat Bananas, by Katie Abey, published by Bloomsbury

Is that a flamingo munching on a banana? What about that hippo flipping pancakes? And why is that llama dressed as a lemon? There’s even a shark slurping a fruit smoothie. All the animals are eating their favourite foods in their own hilarious way. So whatever you’re eating today … tell us how it should be done!

We Eat Bananas invites children to choose their favourite foods and how they like to eat them across 12 spreads, packed with animals eating bananas, soup, sandwiches, sausages, ice cream, vegetables, spaghetti and more. Includes interactive speech bubbles and hilarious shout outs. Gobble up this book! For any parent who has ever struggled to get their kids to eat up, this hilarious book is for YOU! No more fussy eating.

My Big Book of Spot, by Eric Hill, published by Puffin

Join Spot and his friends to find out all about colours, shapes and numbers in this big, bold and beautiful collection of first words and concepts. The playful, conversational text guides the reader through the chunky board pages making early learning interactive and fun. This early learning treasury is the perfect one-stop shop for building a love of books and words in every baby and toddler! Originally published as Spot’s Big Book of Colours, Shapes and Numbers.

Rosie is My Best Friend, by Ali Pye, published by Simon & Schuster 

Rosie and her best friend spend every day together – helping the adults with the gardening and the shopping, learning new tricks, and playing in the park. They even explore outer space and the deepest oceans! When there are scary monsters, they stick together, and although they make new friends, they always come back to each other. There’s nothing better than having a best friend, and Rosie is the best best friend you could possibly ask for.

 

 
That’s Not My Puppy, by Fiona Watt and Rachel Wells, published by Usborne
 
Celebrate the 20th anniversary of That’s not my… with this special edition of the very first title in the series. Babies and toddlers will love touching the textured patches as they meet puppies with fluffy tails, bumpy paws and shiny collars. The bright pictures and textures to stroke are designed to help develop sensory and language awareness.

 

Amazing, by Steve Antony, published by Hachette Children’s Group

A little boy and his pet dragon are the very best of friends. They laugh, they sing, they dance, they snooze. They are both amazing – just like everyone else! 

A celebration of friendship and being yourself with a positive message about celebrating diversity. The perfect platform to start conversations about the importance of understanding and acceptance.

 

We’re Going on a Bear Hunt: 30th Anniversary Edition, by Michael Rosen, illustrated by Helen Oxenbury, published by Walker Books

We’re going on a bear hunt. We’re going to catch a big one. Will you come too? For thirty years, readers have been swishy-swashying and splash-sploshing through this award-winning favourite. This new anniversary paperback edition brings the story to life for a whole new generation of readers. Follow and join in the family’s excitement as they wade through the grass, splash through the river, squelch through the mud and brave their way through the swirling, whirling snowstorm in search of a bear. What surprise awaits them in the cave on the other side of the dark forest!

Harold Snipperpot’s Best Disaster Ever, by Beatrice Alemagna, published by Thames & Hudson

Harold Philip Snipperpot is turning seven years old. He’s never had a real birthday party, his parents are too grumpy. But this year is going to be different. Thanks to an amazing man named Mr. Ponzio, something incredible is going to happen on Harold’s birthday – and it’s going to be absolutely extraordinary.

Click here to enter the competition to win a copy 

Aalfred and Aalbert, by Morag Hood, published by Macmillan Children’s Books 

An aadorable love story between aardvarks: the perfect Valentine’s Day gift for fans of Ed Vere and Nadia Shireen. Aardvarks Aalfred and Aalbert both need a pal. But Aalfred sleeps in the day, and Aalbert sleeps at night. How will they ever get the chance to meet? Bird conjures up a series of sillier and sillier schemes to get the two aardvarks into the same place, but their paths simply refuse to cross. Until one day, when they find each other in the most unexpected way – and now Aalfred and Aalbert will never lose each other again.

Aalfred and Aalbert is as funny and memorable as Morag Hood’s previous books, Colin and Lee, Carrot and Pea, I Am Bat and The Steves. With its sweet and natural portrayal of love accidentally blooming between two aardvarks, it will make a brilliant gift for Valentine’s Day. 

Hugs and Kisses, by Sam Hay, illustrated by Emma Dodd, published by Egmont

There are two sides to every story . . . Flip the book to read each side of the story in this enchanting tale of a whale and an octopus on their search for love, ending with a huge pop-up surprise.

Big Blue Whale is feeling small. Everyone has someone to hug except from him! On his journey to find the perfect hug, he meets lots of sea creatures who want to hug him, but he’s just too big! On the other side of the ocean, Octopus bangs her head (ouch!) and she really needs a kiss better. She meets lots of friendly creatures who offer to give her a kiss, but her tentacles are just too tangly! Join the two creatures as they journey across the ocean to find their perfect match.

In Blossom, by Cheon Yooju, published by Lincoln Children’s Books

One day, a cat and dog meet on a bench. The cat eats her lunch. The dog reads his book. But the sun twinkles, the breeze blows, and there’s something sweet in the air. This is a beautifully illustrated story of the joys of spring and finding a new friend. 

Yooju Cheon was born in Seoul. She studied picture book illustration at Hills. Her previous book is My Mind. About In Blossom, she says, “Once spring blossom comes, I don’t want to do anything but watch blossom all day long. More than anything I love watching soft flowers bloom from ancient trees.”

 

 

 

Pop-up Peekaboo I Love You, published by DK

Find out who’s sending Sheep presents in this cute baby book with flaps to lift and pop-ups to enjoy. This read-aloud children’s book encourages first learning by introducing little ones to colourful scenes and adorable cuddly characters. With the help of parents and caregivers, toddlers will have fun turning the pages, lifting the flaps to play peekaboo, and guessing who’s sending the surprises.

Pop-Up Peekaboo I Love You! is the perfect gift for Valentine’s day, birthdays, and other special occasions, and is certain to make toddlers smile! Ideal for preschool play, this sturdy baby book will appeal to both parents and children and will keep little ones entertained time and time again.

Enter to win a book bundle which includes a copy of Pop-Up Peekaboo I Love You!

I’ll Love You, by Kathryn Cristaldi & Kristyna Litten, published by Andersen Press

Love knows no bounds in his tender tribute to the depths of family love, ideal for fans of Guess How Much I Love You. Perfect for curling up with your little one at the end of the day… and a very special Valentine’s Day gift for the one you love.

#WorldBookDay