Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

New books in August (ages 12+)

« Back

[Click here for new books for ages 0-5, 5-8, 8-12]

Crossfire by Malorie Blackman, published by Penguin

The long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman’s ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series – perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley – a Cross – first met Callum McGregor – a Nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful – and deadly. Life is seemingly very different now for Noughts and Crosses – including for Sephy and Callum’s families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you’re playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won’t be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire.

 

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta, published by Hodder Children’s Books

A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen – then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers – to show ourselves to the world in bold colour.

Fiercely told, this is a powerful coming-of-age story told in verse, from one of the UK’s leading poets, Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and Poet X.

 

Why Your Parents Are Driving You Up the Wall and What To Do About It by Dean Burnett, published by Penguin

The book every teenager needs to read.

Has something gone wrong with your parents? There are hundreds of books for parents about how to deal with their teenagers. For the first time, neuroscientist and international bestselling author, Dean Burnett has written a book for YOU to understand just what on earth is going on. From why parents are obsessed with tidiness, to why they won’t let you get enough sleep and generally why they don’t seem to get anything, this guide covers all the major parental dramas.

Imagine what you’d be capable of if you weren’t wasting all that time and energy arguing about tidying your room.

 

Jelly by Clare Rees, published by Chicken House

Seventeen-year-old Martha and her friends have been drifting on a giant killer jellyfish since sea levels rose and the world ended. Life is gloopy, toxic and full of tentacles. It’s also really boring. More than anything, Martha wants to escape – but what’s waiting for her on the shore? She doesn’t know it, but life is about to get much stickier …

Shortlisted for the 2018 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition, Jelly is the debut novel from Clare Rees. Exploring themes of survival, sustainability and friendship laced through with teenage wit and humour, Jelly is a YA novel for our generation. Truly unique, dynamic and utterly compelling – this is like nothing you’ve ever read before!

 

Seafire by Natalie C Parker, published by Usborne

Caledonia’s family were murdered by ruthless warlord Aric Athair. Now captain of a crew of girls who have lost everything too, she has one mission: to take down Athair’s fleet. But when a rogue boy from Athair’s crew saves the life of her best friend, she faces an impossible choice. If she lets the boy live, will he help them – or destroy them?

High seas, high stakes…and high time for revenge

Click here to read an extract from Seafire

 

Unleashed by Amy McCulloch, published by Simon & Schuster

The thrilling follow-up to Jinxed, from the author of the magical Potion Diaries adventures! 

When Lacey Chu wakes up in a hospital room with no recollection of how she got there, she knows something is up. But with her customizable smart pet, Jinx, missing in action and Moncha, the company behind the invention of the robot pet, up to something seriously sinister, she’s got a lot of figuring out to do. Lacey must use all her engineering skills if she has a chance of stopping Moncha from carrying out their plans. But can she take on the biggest tech company in North America armed with only a level 1 robot beetle … ?

 

Dead Popular by Sue Wallman, published by Scholastic

A new chilling read from the author of Lying About Last Summer.

The reigning queen bee, Kate, knows that you don’t become the most powerful girl at school by playing nice. But when other students start revealing long-held secrets anonymously, she realizes someone is playing a much more dangerous game – and they know too much about Kate’s past. If she doesn’t figure out who’s behind this, her final year at Pankhurst could be exactly that: her final year.

 

Between Worlds: Folktales of Britain & Ireland by Kevin Crossley-Holland, illustrated by Frances Castle, published by Walker Books

Rich and strange, these eerie and magical folktales from across Britain and Ireland have been passed down from generation to generation, and are gathered together in a definitive new collection from the master storyteller and winner of the Carnegie Medal, Kevin Crossley-Holland. Dark and funny, lyrical and earthy, these fifty stories are part of an important and enduring historical tradition that dates back hundreds of years. Described by Neil Gaiman as the “master”, Crossley-Holland’s unforgettable retellings will capture the imagination of readers young and old alike.

[For ages 14+ as contains adult themes]

 

I Am Not A Number by Lisa Heathfield, published by Egmont

The powerful and heart-wrenching new novel from Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Louise O’Neill and Lisa Williamson.

The Traditionals have been voted to lead the country, winning people over with talks of healing a broken society, of stronger families and safer streets. They promised a happier future for everyone. They didn’t promise this. When Ruby is swept up with protesters from the opposition, her life is changed forever. Locked in a prison camp far from home and with her belongings taken from her, she’s now known by the number 276. With horror escalating in the camp, Ruby knows that she has to get her family out – and let the world know what’s happening.

Set in the present day, I Am Not A Number is a powerful and timely book for both young adults and adults alike.

 

#WorldBookDay