Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

New books in July (ages 12+)

« Back

[Click here for new books for ages 0-5, 5-8 and 8-12]

Heartstopper Vol 2 by Alice Oseman, published by Hodder Children’s Books

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. *Includes exclusive Tara/Darcy story!*

Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie’s gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn’t.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family … and himself.

Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

 

The Million Pieces of Neena Gill by Emma Smith-Barton, published by Penguin

A deeply moving and powerful #ownvoices story from a bold and exciting new voice in British young adult fiction.

Neena’s always been a good girl – great grades, parent-approved friends and absolutely no boyfriends. But ever since her brother Akash left her, she’s been slowly falling apart – and uncovering a new version of herself who is altogether more dangerous.

As her wild behaviour spirals more and more out of control, Neena’s grip on her sanity begins to weaken too. And when her parents announce not one but two life-changing bombshells – including that they want her to have an arranged marriage – she finally reaches breaking point. But as Neena is about to discover, when your life falls apart, only love can piece you back together.

 

Under A Dancing Star by Laura Wood, published by Scholastic
(Very Mild Sexual references)

In 1930s England, seventeen-year-old Bea knows that she will one day have to marry someone her parents choose. But she longs for adventure, excitement, travel, and maybe even romance…

When she gets the chance to spend the summer in Italy with her uncle and his bohemian fiancé, a whole world is opened to Bea – a world that includes Ben, a cocky young artist who just happens to be infuriatingly handsome. Sparks fly between the quick-witted pair until one night, under the stars, a challenge is set: can Bea and Ben put aside their teasing and have the perfect summer romance? With their new friends gleefully setting the rules, Bea and Ben can agree on one thing at least: they absolutely, positively will not, cannot fall in love.

A long, hot summer of kisses unfolds – but storm clouds are gathering across Europe, and home is calling. Every summer has to end – but for Bea, this might just be the beginning.

 

Find The Girl: All That Glitters by Lucy and Lydia Connell, published by Penguin

Nancy Palmer used to be Insta-famous and her twin Nina used to shy away from everyone. Things can change pretty quickly. Nina has been accepted onto a Guildhall music course and is famous because of her pop star boyfriend, Chase. Nancy is trying to put her name on the map by becoming a music journalist and is not getting distracted by Chase’s hot bandmate Miles.
When their estranged dad shows up out of the blue and shows an interest in Nina’s budding music career, Nancy isn’t sure he’s just there to make amends. As they attempt to find their way through new challenges, they both have to remember that you have to pave your own path to success and sometimes fame comes at a price.

 

I Hold Your Heart by Karen Gregory, published by Bloomsbury

‘You make me feel like there’s something good in the world I can hold on to,’ Aaron says. He kisses me again, draws me so close it’s almost hard to breathe. ‘I love you, Gem. And I promise I’ll hold your heart forever.’ 
When Gemma meets Aaron, she feels truly seen for the first time. Their love story is the intense kind. The written-in-the-stars, excluding-all-others kind. The kind you write songs about. 
But little by little their relationship takes over Gemma’s life. What happens when being seen becomes being watched, and care becomes control?
Told in both Gemma’s and Aaron’s words, this is a raw, moving exploration of gaslighting in teenage relationships that skewers our ideas of what love looks like.

Win 1 of 3 copies of I Hold Your Heart by Karen Gregory

 

Powers of a Girl by Lorraine Cink and Alice X. Zhang, published by Bonnier

This unique book is the perfect start-or addition-to any Marvel fan’s collection! Using her in-depth knowledge and passion for Super Heroes, Lorraine Cink explores the lives of the exceptional and diverse women of the Marvel Universe. Filled with inspirational lessons and clever observations, each section digs into what these relatable women can teach us all about growth, bravery, and the true meaning of strength. Paired with over one hundred original, vibrant, and emotive illustrations from the talented Alice X. Zhang, this book balances the responsibility and the fun that comes with being a hero.

 

Lily’s Just Fine by Gill Stewart, published by Sweet Cherry Publishing

Lily couldn’t have planned life better herself. She lives in the best house in town and she’s dating the most popular boy in school. Everything else she can fix. Mum’s apathy? On it! The stuffy gala committee? Watch this space! 

Tom has enough on his plate without trying to drag Newton St Cuthbert into the 21st Century. His sister is sick and there’s nothing anyone can do. Not doctors, not his parents, and certainly not Lily Hildebrand.

Sail away this summer with the unexpected romance of Scotland’s most determined teenager.

Win 1 of 5 copies of Lily’s Just Fine

 

Queen of Air and Darkness by Cassandra Clare, published by Simon & Schuster

In a kingdom besieged by poverty, war and despair, Princess Sophia must do whatever it takes to restore peace, and protect the people she loves.

Sophia is smart, beautiful, accomplished, a beloved princess devoted to the people and to reading books. The kingdom is hers, until a series of tragedies ends with her imprisonment in a nightmarish realm populated by the awful beasts she read about as a child. The beasts are real. And so is the great army marching on her castle. The people look to Sophia for protection. They will all perish unless she can unlock an ancient secret as profound as life and death itself.

Win 1 of 5 copies of Queen of Air and Darkness

 

SuperSpace, published by DK

Bursting with fascinating facts and the latest breathtaking images, this space book for children brings the wonders of the Solar System to life. Find out about the never-ending storms on Jupiter. Learn about the towering volcanoes of Venus – all 1,600 of them, and see the Valles Marineris on Mars – a canyon that is ten times longer than Earth’s Grand Canyon. Find out many more fascinating “super” facts about the cosmos with SuperSpace.

Based on recent research and discoveries, SuperSpaceshowcases everything you need to know about the Universe – from the Big Bang to the formation of galaxies and planets as well as the technology used to explore it unimaginable depths. Fabulous cutaway artworks help to reveal the inner workings of the Sun, planets, and spacecraft.

SuperSpacebrings the cosmos to life in a visually compelling and informative way, making it a must-have book for every budding space enthusiast.

 

Heartstream by Tom Pollock, published by Walker Books

Cat is in love. Always the sensible one, she can’t believe that she’s actually dating, not to mention dating a star. But the fandom can’t know. They would eat her alive. And first at the buffet would definitely be her best friend, Evie.

Amy uses Heartstream, a social media app that allows others to feel your emotions. She broadcasted every moment of her mother’s degenerative illness, and her grief following her death. It’s the realest, rawest reality TV imaginable.

But on the day of Amy’s mother’s funeral, Amy finds a strange woman in her kitchen. She’s rigged herself and the house with explosives – and she’s been waiting to talk to Amy for a long time. Who is she? A crazed fan? What does she want?

Amy and Cat are about to discover how far true obsession can go.

 

Sophia, Princess Among Beasts by James Patterson with Emily Raymond, published by Random House


In a kingdom besieged by poverty, war and despair, Princess Sophia must do whatever it takes to restore peace, and protect the people she loves.

Sophia is smart, beautiful, accomplished, a beloved princess devoted to the people and to reading books. The kingdom is hers, until a series of tragedies ends with her imprisonment in a nightmarish realm populated by the awful beasts she read about as a child.

The beasts are real. And so is the great army marching on her castle. The people look to Sophia for protection. They will all perish unless she can unlock an ancient secret as profound as life and death itself.

 

#WorldBookDay