Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

New books in November, ages 8-12

« Back

[Click here for new books for ages 0-5, 5-8 and 12+]

The Fowl Twins by Eoin Colfer, published by HarperCollins Children’s Book

Almost 20 years on from the first Artemis Fowl, Eoin Colfer returns with a blockbuster new spin-off series, which sees Artemis’s twin brothers at the helm of a dangerously fast-paced adventure. With their brother, criminal virtuoso Artemis Fowl, away on a five-year mission to Mars, the younger Fowl children, 11- year-old twins Myles and Beckett, have been left alone at the Fowl family home.

One day, the twins manage to accidently get caught up in an interspecies dispute when a troll burrows out of the Earth’s core right in front of Beckett’s eyes! In the events that follow the boys are shot at, kidnapped, buried, arrested, threatened and even temporarily killed but, despite their differences, the twins find that there is no force stronger than the bond between them.

The Fowl Twins features Eoin’s trademark humour, prescient technological inventions and modern re-telling of fairy folklore. The book can be enjoyed as a standalone by readers new to the Fowl universe and will be a welcome return to a familiar world for existing Fowl fans.

Win a signed copy of The Fowl Twins

 

The Boy Who Made the World Disappear by Ben Miller, published by Simon & Schuster

Harrison tries his best to be good. He doesn’t steal, he always shares with his sister and he never cheats at board games, but Harrison also has a BIG flaw … He can’t control his temper!

So when he’s given a black hole instead of a balloon at a party, Harrison jumps at the chance to get rid of everything that makes him cross. But when it’s not just things he hates that are disappearing into the black hole but things he loves, too, Harrison starts to realise that sometimes you should be careful what you wish for…

Win a copy of The Boy Who Made the World Disappear

 

We Are Artists by Kari Herbert, published by Thames & Hudson

We Are Artists celebrates the life and work of 15 female artists from around the globe and the distinctive mark they made on the art world and beyond. Presented as a collection of engaging biographical narratives, We Are Artists reveals how each artist’s unique approach and perspective provided the art world and society at large with a new way of seeing things. It places the spotlight on women painters, sculptors, printmakers, illustrators, designers and craftswomen, who all too often are left out of history and art history books for children. Through their personal stories, readers will come to know the circles and art movements each artist worked in, and the influence they exerted on both the art world and society as a whole. Following in the wake of the Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls phenomenon, We Are Artists is aimed at inspiring young readers and aspiring artists, no matter what their gender, to find their own unique way of making a contribution to the world.

Win a copy of We Are Artists

 

The Pearl in the Ice by Cathryn Constable, published by Chicken House

Marina’s father, a naval captain, has been away for most of her life – certainly since her mother died – and yet Marina feels the pull of an ocean she’s never known. When sent to boarding school to learn to be a lady, Marina decides instead to stow away on her father’s ship. A perilous voyage awaits – but where are they sailing to and why, and what has it to do with the dark shape in the deep that seems to be following them?

A coming-of-age, coming-into-voice story from the author of the bestselling The Wolf PrincessThe Pearl in the Ice is inspired by a classic folk tale, while remaining a realistic historical story with contemporary pace and feel.

Win a copy of The Pearl in the Ice 

Read an extract from The Pearl in the Ice 

 

Nevertell by Katharine Orton, published by Walker Books

A world of magic is only a whisper away…
Born in a Soviet prison camp, Lina has never seen the world outside until the night she escapes with her best friend, Bogdan. As the pair journey across a snowy wilderness, they are pursued by a vengeful sorceress and her pack of shadow wolves. The children will need every ounce of courage – and a whisper of magic – if they are to survive…
Perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone, Sophie Anderson and Catherine Doyle.

 

Shadows of Winterspell by Amy Wilson, published by Macmillan Children’s Books

Deep in the forest, magic is waiting . . .

Sparkling with frost and magic, Shadows of Winterspell will sweep you up in a world of friendship and magic, to uncover family secrets and find out who you really are.

Stella has been living behind the magic of the forest for most of her life. Lonely, she enrols at the local school, and as she begins to make friends, she discovers that she is even more different than she thought. But as autumn turns to magical winter, Stella realizes that uncovering her own family secret is the only way to release the forest from the grip of a dark and old magic.

A wintery magical adventure from the critically-acclaimed Amy Wilson, author of A Girl Called Owl.

 

Tyrannosaurus rex: A Pop-Up Guide to Anatomy, written by Dougal Dixon and illustrated by Rachel Caldwell, published by Templar
The complete body of a Tyrannosaurus rex has recently been uncovered, its remains mysteriously preserved. It is the discovery of a lifetime! In this detailed report, a team of scientists prepare to dissect the body – and you are lucky enough to be helping them. Grab your scalpel and prepare to get stuck in.
Non-fiction comes alive in this incredible pop-up book that guides readers through a real-life dinosaur dissection. Peel back the layers and learn as you go!

Win a copy of Tyrannosaurus rex 

 

The Wonders of Nature, published by DK

Perfect for discovering autumn nature – and beyond! – this beautiful compendium of amazing rocks and minerals, microscopic life, plants, and animals will captivate children with over 100 remarkable marvels from the natural world, from orchids to opals and lichens to lizards. Each plant, animal, and rock is shown both photographically and illustrated, and children will love poring over the detailed close-up images.

The storybook descriptions let you discover the myths and legends surrounding both organisms and gemstones, as well as key facts about their natural history. Find out how the prowling jaguar uses spots to avoid being spotted, why a sticky sundew means big trouble for insects, and what on Earth a radiolarian is. This beautiful treasury lets you find the things that interest you and uncover new favourites along the way. With reference pages packed with information you’ll go away knowing something you didn’t before, and you’ll return time and again. A perfect for kids to explore by themselves or for bedtime stories!

 

Our Planet, written by Matt Whyman with a foreword by Sir David Attenborough, illustrated by Richard Jones, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

Our Planet is the official children’s book to the Netflix original documentary series. It is a glorious celebration of the natural world, combining photography from the series with stunning illustrations. Lose yourself in icy landscapes, dense jungles and endless oceans. Learn how our fascinating habitats, and the plants and creatures living there, interconnect to create the one place we all call home – Our Planet.

 

Malory Towers Collection 2: Books 4-6 by Enid Blyton, published by Hodder Children’s Books

Upper Fourth
Darrell Rivers is Head Girl of her class and her sister Felicity has joined Malory Towers. It looks set to be a wonderful term until Felicity makes friends with young trouble-maker June. With twins Connie and Ruth causing problems in their form too, Darrell’s first term in charge is a big challenge . . .

In the Fifth
Now that Darrell Rivers and her friends are fifth-formers, it’s their turn to produce the school play. There is plenty of talent on show but everyone has their own ideas and competition for the starring role is fierce. Can the girls overcome their quarrels so that no one is upstaged?

Last Term
Darrell Rivers is Head Girl of Malory Towers and there is plenty to keep her busy. Amanda is prepared to risk everything to be chosen to swim in the Olympics and spoilt Gwendoline is up to her usual tricks. Can Darrell stop Gwendoline from ruining their final term before it’s time to wave goodbye?

Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This collection features the original stories and is unillustrated.

 

Encyclopedia of Animals, written by Jules Howard and illustrated by Jarom Vogel, published by Wide-Eyed Editions

Plunge into the diversity of the animal kingdom in this Encyclopedia of Animals. Packed with over 500 creatures, every one is looked at in detail by a natural history expert. From the tiniest sponge to the largest elephant, all entries are gloriously illustrated in this spectacular celebration of life on Earth.

Win a copy of Encyclopedia of Animals

 

 

 

#WorldBookDay