Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

Celebrate Valentine’s Day with these lovely books

« Back

Valentine’s Day (14th February) is all about celebrating love and affection. Whether it’s romance, friendships or families, celebrate the power of love with our list of book recommendations!

Happy Valentine’s Day! 

0-5

Guess How Much I Love You,  by Sam McBratney and illustrated by Anita Jeram, published by Walker Books

“I love you right up to the moon – AND BACK!”

Sometimes, when you love someone very, very much, you want to find a way of describing just how much you treasure them. But, as Little Nutbrown Hare and Big Nutbrown Hare discover, love is not always an easy thing to measure!

Since it’s publication in 1994, children and parents worldwide have cherished the heartwarming tale of Little Nutbrown and Big Nutbrown Hare so much that it has become one of the most enduring bedtime classics of our time. Join us in celebrating its 25th Anniversary with this special board book edition, featuring beautiful gold foil details on the cover and spine.

The Hug by Eoin McLaughlin, illustrated by Polly Dunbar, Faber & Faber

In this clever flipbook, both a hedgehog and a tortoise are looking for a hug. They ask all the other animals they come across but for some reason no one will hug them. When an owl tried to explain that they’re difficult to hug, both feel all hope is lost. But there’s always someone for everyone….with a happy conclusion in the middle of the book.

 

Sula Loves, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

From sparkly wands to painting a rainbow mural, this chunky board book is packed with all the things that Sula loves.

This adorable board book is even shaped like Sula too, making it both fun and sturdy for busy little hands.

Great fun books . . . they’re a Bing thing!

I’ll Catch You if You Fall written by Mark Sperring and illustrated by Layn Marlow published by Oxford University Press

We all need someone to keep us safe.

Big or small, near or far, we all need someone to watch over us. This is a book for anyone who has asked ‘who will keep me safe’ and for anyone who has answered ‘I will’.

 

5-8

Hang onto your Whiskers by Geronimo Stilton, published by Sweet Cherry Publishing

Love is in the air! Geronimo has met the mouse of his dreams but he just can’t play it cool. He needs to do something amazing, something incredible to catch her attention! What better way than by searching for the Eighth Wonder of the World: the mysterious Valley of the Cheeselets? Will he return home a legend? And will it all be worth it in the end? The series is perfect for 5 to 8 year old’s both avid and reluctant readers due to its expressive typeset, fun illustrations and humorous stories.

Rainbow Magic: Juliet the Valentine Fairy  by Daisy Meadows, published by Hachette

 Juliet the Valentine Fairy is in a terrible state!

She helps make every Valentines’ Day special for friends and sweethearts everywhere. But Jack Frost and his naughty goblins have stolen her three special Valentine objects, so nobody is enjoying this most special and wonderful of days!

Can Kirsty and Rachel help Juliet, or will the missing Valentine items affect their friendship, too…?

Love from Dr. Seuss, by Dr. Seuss, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

One Love, Two Love, I Love, You Love!

Love, live and laugh with Dr. Seuss in this sweet selection of lovely lines and unforgettable illustrations!

Full of inspiration and love from his countless classics, this is the perfect collection for every occasion, sent to you with love from Dr. Seuss…

8-12

Find Your Girl Squad  by Dr Angharad Rudkin and Ruth Fitzgerald, published by Hachette

Friendships are SO difficult to get right – and when rumours swirl or dramas unfold, your confidence vanishes and the worries start to take over. In this essential guide to friendship you’ll meet Poppy, who’s juggling all sorts of dilemmas at school. But whether it’s coping with feeling left out, handling bullies or embracing her true weird and wonderful self, friendship expert Dr Angharad Rudkin and author Ruth Fitzgerald are there to help with positive, practical advice. As you follow Poppy’s trials and tribulations, you’ll discover the secrets to finding your own ultimate girl squad – one which loves you for YOU!

Pride and Prejudice – Oxford Children’s Classics written by Jane Austen published by Oxford University Press

Fall in love with Elizabeth and Mr Darcy . . .

If you like timeless romances, then Pride and Prejudice is the story for you! Not only does this edition include the complete, unabridged text, it is also full of extra material to help you get the most from the story and gives lots of recommendations for other adventures you might enjoy.

12+

Heartstopper: Volume 3  by Alice Oseman, published by Hachette

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love.

Charlie didn’t think Nick could ever like him back, but now they’re officially boyfriends. Nick’s even found the courage to come out to his mum.

But coming out isn’t just something that happens once – there’s Nick’s older brother, and a school trip to Paris, not to mention all the other friends and family – and life can be hard, even with someone who loves you by your side. As their feelings get more serious, Charlie and Nick will need each other more than ever before.

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland, published by Hot Key Books

Henry Page is a hopeless romantic who’s never been in love. Grace Town, who walks with a cane, wears oversized clothes, and rarely showers, isn’t the dream girl he imagined – but when they are both chosen to edit the school paper, it doesn’t take long for him to start falling for her. It’s obvious there is something broken about Grace, and Henry wants to help her put the pieces back together again. But some things can’t be fixed.

Krystal Sutherland’s beautiful, bittersweet, and brilliant debut is without a doubt one of the best teen novels of the year. Sutherland skillfully dismantles the ‘manic pixie dreamgirl’ trope while also exploring what it is about first love, and first heartbreak, that is so intoxicating. Our Chemical Hearts is incredibly cinematic, and the characters are wonderfully well-drawn and believable, the main characters and the supporting cast come alive on the page. The book manages to tug on your heartstrings while also being laugh-out-loud funny and unexpectedly insightful. With her fantastic debut, Sutherland has firmly established herself as a rising star in teen fiction.

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sara Barnard.

P.S. I Still Love You (Film tie in edition) by Jenny Han, published by Scholastic

To celebrate the release of the Netflix film out on 12th February we’ve got a gorgeous film tie-in edition also publishing in February !

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. But suddenly they are together for real – and it’s far more complicated than when they were pretending! Lara Jean and her love letters are back in this utterly irresistible sequel to TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE.

 

My Type on Paper by Chloe Seager, published by Scholastic

Maya is down in the dumps … quite literally. She’s just been pied by her boyfriend before what was supposed to be their last romantic summer before heading off to Uni. Luckily help is at hand in the form of her friends, determined to hook her up with a fun summer romance, no strings attached. And with a summer job working at the fancy new beach resort in town, how can she fail to meet the guy of her dreams? Hot weather, hot guys, hot summer romance… it’s a dead cert. But with three perfect-on-paper guys to choose from, not to mention her snakey ex re-entering the picture, how will she know which guy to go for?

Finding Sky written by Joss Stirling published by Oxford University Press

Finding your soul mate has never been so dangerous.

Most of us are doomed to knowing there’s something better out there but we can’t discover it.

What would you do if the hottest guy in school turned out to be your perfect match – your soulfinder?

Sky is the shy English girl, new to the American high school in Wickenridge, and she’s about to surprise everyone – most of all herself.

 

#WorldBookDay