Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

NEW BOOKS IN FEBRUARY, AGES 12+

« Back

[Click here for ages 0-5, 5-8 and 8-12]

Special Forces Cadets 4: Ruthless by Chris Ryan, published by Hot Key Books

The ghettos of Brazil are crawling with street kids. They have nothing, and are forced into lives of crime in order to get enough to eat. Their life expectancies are short, not least because the Brazilian authorities allow paramilitaries to shoot them like rats.

But it’s with the street kids of Rio de Janeiro that the cadets must become embedded. Some of these kids have been recruited by the cartels. The cartels are causing untold misery, both in Brazil and on the streets of the UK. The cadets must befriend the cartel kids in the hope that they will lead them into the heart of the drug lords’ empire.

But when you head into the lion’s den, you must expect to be bitten. The cartel chiefs are the most ruthless people in the world, and they do not take kindly to the infiltration of their secret, violent world . . .

Unstoppable by Dan Freedman, published by David Fickling Books

Meet the twins: Kaine and Roxy. Their mixed-race family is a pressure cooker of high expectations and high achievements. Kaine is being scouted by the Premier League and Roxy is heading for Wimbledon. But when tragedy hits the family, their sporting dreams become a living nightmare. Unstoppable is a compelling story with a taut, high-speed narrative following the fortunes of the twins and their sporting, family and school experiences.

 

Wilder Girls, by Rory Power, published by Macmillan Children’s Books [contains mature content]

‘Your new favourite book’ Cosmopolitan

An instant New York Times bestseller, Wilder Girls is Rory Power’s visceral and unputdownable YA debut. The Power meets We Were Liars in this compelling story of survival and the power of female friendships.

Everyone loses something to the Tox; Hetty lost her eye, Reese’s hand has changed, and Byatt just disappeared completely.

It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put in quarantine. The Tox turned the students strange and savage, the teachers died off one by one. Cut off from the mainland, the girls don’t dare wander past the school’s fence where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure as the Tox takes; their bodies becoming sick and foreign, things bursting out of them, bits missing.

But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her best friend, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie in the wilderness past the fence. As she digs deeper, she learns disturbing truths about her school and what else is living on Raxter Island.  And that the cure might not be a cure at all . . .

WWE Beyond Extreme, published by DK

Ferocious Battles. Shocking Stunts. No Holds Barred! Relive the action from the most rip-roaring matches, marvel at spectacular takedowns and death-defying stunts, and discover WWE’s scariest and strangest Superstars. Sports entertainment doesn’t get more extreme than this!

© 2020 WWE, Inc. All rights reserved.

 

Evernight by Ross MacKenzie, published by Andersen Press

Prepare for EVERNIGHT, the first book in a spellbinding new series from the winner of the Blue Peter Book Award.

As far back as she can remember, orphan Larabelle Fox has scraped together a living by treasure-hunting in the sewers. In a city where emotionless White Witches march through the streets and fear of Hag magic is rife, Lara keeps her head down. But when she stumbles upon a mysterious little box in the sewers, Lara finds herself catapulted into a world of wild magic – facing adventure, mortal danger and a man who casts no shadow.

Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed, published by Simon and Schuster

Jamie Goldberg is cool with volunteering for his local state candidate – as long as he’s behind the scenes. There’s no way he’d ever knock on doors to ask people for their votes… until he meets Maya.

Maya Rehman’s having the worst Ramadan ever. Her best friend is too busy to hang out, her summer trip is cancelled, her parents are separating and now her mother thinks the solution to her problems is political canvassing – with some awkward guy she hardly knows…

Going door to door isn’t exactly glamorous, but maybe it’s not the worst thing in the world. After all, the polls are getting closer – and so are Maya and Jamie. Mastering local activism is one thing. Navigating the cross-cultural crush of the century is another thing entirely.

Win 1 of 5 copies of Yes No Maybe So

The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott, published by Walker Books

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back?

Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with.

Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea.

When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow…

Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist – perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

#WorldBookDay