Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

NEW BOOKS IN FEBRUARY, AGES 8-12

« Back

[Click here for ages 0-5, 5-8 and 12+]

Dancing the Charleston by Jacqueline Wilson, published by Random House

 In a little cottage on the edge of the grand Somerset Estate, Mona lives with her aunt – a dressmaker to the lady of the house.

Life on the edge of the Somerset Estate means that Mona knows she will never have a life full of beautiful clothes and riches. But soon, that will all change . . .

When Lady Somerset dies and a new member of the family inherits the house, Mona is propelled into a life of razzle-dazzle parties, new Bohemian friends and wonderful trips to London.

However, even with these changes Mona discovers that she cannot dance away from her past.

A glittery trip back in time, from the author of Hetty Feather and Tracy Beaker!

The Pear Affair by Judith Eagle, illustrated by Kim Geyer, published by Faber
The highly anticipated second novel from the author of acclaimed The Secret Starling – a spectacular adventure set through and under the streets of Paris.

When Nell Magnificent’s awful parents tell her that they’re going on a business trip to Paris, she surprises them by begging to go along.

Nell is usually content to avoid her money-obsessed father and her fashion-focussed mother, but Nell isn’t planning on hanging around. Paris holds something very dear to her… her old au pair Perrine – Pear lives there. Pear used to write to Nell every week promising to come to her rescue but recently the letters have stopped…

Arriving at her parent’s posh hotel, Nell is determined to find Pear… but no one has seen her at her last known address, and no one seems to want to tell her anything about Pear’s whereabouts.

Luckily, she befriends the hotel bellboy who introduces her to the world of tunnels underneath the city, and together they set out on an epic mission to find Pear, whilst uncovering an extraordinary mystery of their own… one that might just implicate the whole of Paris!

Black and white chapterhead illustrations bring this story to life.

The Unstoppable Letty Pegg, by Iszi Lawrence, published by Bloomsbury 

Brilliant debut historical adventure from writer and comedian Iszi Lawrence, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, The Princess and the Suffragette, and Opal Plumstead

The story of the suffragettes with the Jiu Jitsu and roller skating left in… this impeccably researched debut novel from Iszi Lawrence shows the fight for women’s suffrage as it really was. 

Lettice Pegg’s father is a working-class policeman and her mother is a middle-class suffragette. Stuck between them (and her terrifying grandma) as they argue, Lettice mostly cares about trying to fit in at school and convincing her parents to let her have roller skates and go to the music hall. But, when Lettice sees her mother brutally thrown to the ground by a policeman while on a protest march, her life changes forever. Not all of the women on the march are vulnerable to attack. Some of them have a secret weapon: Jiu Jitsu.

As the suffragettes welcome Lettice to the fight back, things at home go from bad to worse. Can Lettice bring her family back together and keep her new friends?

Win 1 of 3 copies of The Unstoppable Letty Pegg

The Highland Falcon Thief, by MG Leonard and Sam Sedgman, published by Macmillan Children’s Books

Adventures on Trains is a major mystery series from the prize-winning M.G. Leonard and Sam Sedgman.  First stop, The Highland Falcon Thief, a breathless train journey full of deceptions, puzzles and clues to solve.

Harrison Beck is reluctantly joining his travel-writer Uncle Nat for the last journey of the royal train, The Highland Falcon. But as the train makes its way to Scotland, a priceless brooch goes missing, and things are suddenly a lot more interesting.  As suspicions and accusations run high among the passengers, Harrison begins to investigate and uncovers a few surprises along the way. Can he solve the mystery of the jewel thief and catch the culprit before they reach the end of the line?

Hear whispers in the dining car, find notes in the library, and unknown passengers among the luggage as you help Harrison to solve the mystery aboard one of the world’s grandest trains.  Fast-paced and packed with illustrations and clues, Adventures on Trains is a stop you won’t want to miss!

 Here in the Real World, by Sara Pennypacker, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

From the author of the highly acclaimed, bestselling novel Pax comes a gorgeous and moving story that is an ode to introverts and misfits everywhere.

 

 

 

Demelza & The Spectre Detectors by Holly Rivers, published by Chicken House,

 Full of warmth, eccentricity, humour and plenty of action, DEMELZA & THE SPECTRE DETECTORS is the debut novel from the multi-talented Holly Rivers, who played Drusilla Paddock in ITV’s original Worst Witch series.

 Demelza loves science – she loves it so much that she stays up late to work on her inventions. But she soon discovers she’s also inherited a distinctly unscientific skill: Spectre Detecting. Like her grandmother, she can summon the ghosts of the dead. When Grandma Maeve is kidnapped, Demelza and her pasty-faced best friend, Percy, must leap into action to solve the deadly mystery …

Win 1 of 3 copies of Demelza & The Spectre Detectors,

Read an extract of Demelza and the Spectre Detectors

Charlie Morphs Into a Mammoth by Sam Copeland, published by Puffin

Charlie McGuffin is closer than ever to being able to control his crazy ability to turn into animals, but there are some things he can’t control, like the arguments his parents keep having (which are making him more worried than ever) or the spate of mysterious animal disappearances spreading through town (which seem somehow to be connected to Charlie himself) or the fact that he doesn’t have a date for the school dance (which is coming up fast). With the support of best friends Flora, Mohsen and Wogan, can Charlie unravel the mystery of the pet-nappings in time to shake a tail-feather at the disco? Or will his hidden adversary reveal Charlie’s biggest secret to the world…?

Orphans of the Tide, by Struan Murray and illustrated by Manuel Sumberac, published by Puffin

When a mysterious boy washes in with the tide, the citizens believe he’s the Enemy – the god who drowned the world – come again to cause untold chaos.

Only Ellie, a fearless young inventor living in a workshop crammed with curiosities, believes he’s innocent. But the Enemy can take possession of any human body and the ruthless Inquisition are determined to destroy it forever. To save the boy, Ellie must prove who he really is – even if that means revealing her own dangerous secret . . .

It Can’t Be True! Animals, published by DK

Did you know that one blue whale weighs as much as 32 Asian elephants? Can you believe an ant recently discovered in the treetops of Borneo explodes when under attack, covering enemy ants in a toxic goo? Did you know that the ocean-dwelling bootlace worm is longer than a 50-metre Olympic-sized swimming pool? “But it can’t be true”, you say. Yes, it really is!

Packed with mind-blowing facts and awesome illustrations, this brilliant book for kids reveals incredible information about the weird and wonderful world of animals. It Can’t Be True! Animals brings you record-breaking facts, amazing stories, and unbelievable animal activity that you can see for yourself. Eye-popping photos and incredible illustrations show you what the numbers mean, comparing the extraordinary with the familiar. From the coconut crab that grows bigger than a basketball to the Ruppell’s vulture that soars higher than an aeroplane, this unique book for kids shows you what other books only tell you.

Featuring astounding animals from all the main groups – invertebrates, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals – It Can’t Be True! Animals is the perfect book for children who are curious about the animal kingdom.

A Sprinkle of Sorcery by Michelle Harrison, published by Simon and Schuster

From the bestselling author of A Pinch of Magic comes another spellbinding adventure that will take your breath away and make you believe in magic.

The Widdershins sisters are back in another standalone adventure full of magic, mayhem and sibling loyalty.

The family curse has been lifted and sisters, Betty, Fliss and Charlie, are free to leave the miserable prison isle of Crowstone. But when a mysterious girl, accompanied by a will-o’-the-wisp, arrives on the Widdershins’ doorstep with a map to an unchartered island and a hagstone that reveals hidden secrets, it seems another adventure is brewing.

And when Charlie is kidnapped, it’s up to Betty and Fliss to journey through misty marches, past swarms of wisps, and ghostly pirates, and on to a fabled island that could just hold the answer.

Watch the trailer here.

A Sprinkle of Sorcery Secret Map

A Sprinkle of Sorcery Quiz

The House of One Hundred Clocks by A.M. Howell, published by Usborne

JUNE, 1905.Helena and her parrot, Orbit, are swept off to Cambridge when her father is appointed clock-winder to one of the wealthiest men in England. There is only one rule: the clocks must never stop.

But Helena discovers the house of one hundred clocks holds many mysteries; a ghostly figure, strange notes and disappearing winding keys… Can she work out its secrets before time runs out?

 

RSPB Birds by Miranda Krestovnikoff, illustrated by Angela Harding, published by Bloomsbury

The sky is splendid with fierce, clever and spectacular birds.

From the bitter cold polar regions to the lush tropics, birds have found incredible ways to adapt and survive anywhere. White-winged diuca finches nest high upon freezing glaciers and mightly peregrine falcons circle skyscrapers in busy cities. Look up!

What birds can do is extraordinary. The statuesque golden eagle spots prey from kilometres away. You can tell what time of day an owl hunts by looking at the colour of its eyes. With its long, muscular legs, the secretary bird has a powerful kick that is enough to kill large prey like snakes and hares.

Discover which bird is the fastest, the smallest, the cleverest, the most colourful and much more in this beautiful collection.

Written by television presenter and president of the RSPB, Miranda Krestovnikoff, and brought to life by celebrated artist and print maker, Angela Harding, RSPB Birds will amaze, intrigue and take your breath away.

Sticky Pines: The Bigwoof Conspiracy, by Dashe Roberts, published by Nosy Crow
When twelve-year-old, UFO-obsessed, Lucy Sladan sneaks out in the middle of a thunderstorm to investigate the unexplained disappearances in her hometown of Sticky Pines, she finds more than she bargained for: a huge hairy creature, a thirteen-year-old stranger named Milo Fisher and a deep-rooted secret. 

Together, Lucy and Milo become entwined in a mystery that threatens to engulf the whole town of Sticky Pines and its weird and wonderful residents.

Activity: Solve the Mystery of Sticky Pines

#WorldBookDay