Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

NEW BOOKS IN JANUARY, AGES 8-12

« Back

[Click here for new books for ages 0-5, 5-8 and 12+]

Lucky Button by Michael Morpurgo and illustrated by Michael Foreman, published by Walker Books

From award-winning master storyteller Michael Morpurgo, author of the acclaimed War Horse, comes a moving historical story inspired by the Foundling Museum. A lonely boy struggles to cope with school bullies and caring for his mother, until a mysterious encounter reveals life in the Foundling Hospital in the eighteenth century and unravels a touching tale about the power of music. Beautifully illustrated in black and white by Kate Greenaway Medal-winning illustrator Michael Foreman.

 

Lalani of the Distant Sea  by Erin Entrada Kelly, published by Piccadilly Press

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea . . .

Life is hard on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. The women live in fear of the deadly mender’s disease, spread by the sharp needles they use to repair the men’s fishing nets.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother pricks her finger and falls ill, she gives twelve-year-old Lalani an impossible task – leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest. How can a timid young girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago?

Win 1 of 5 copies of Lalani of the Distant Sea

The Kid Who Came From Space, by Ross Welford, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

The stunning new 10+ story from the bestselling and award-winning author of Time Travelling With a Hamster, for anyone who loved the humour of WALL-E, the action of Star Wars and the deeply touching emotion of ET.

Win a set of 5 books by Ross Welford, including The Kid Who Came From Space

Welcome to My Crazy Life, by Joshua Seigal, illustrated by Chris Piascik, published by Bloomsbury

Packed full of silly, funny, or downright hilarious poems (with some serious ones mixed in), this new collection is perfect for fans of Michael Rosen. With poems on every topic from demon cats to why you should NEVER forget your trousers, this is a must-have new collection from Joshua Seigal, whose books I Don’t Like Poetry and I Bet I Can Make You Laugh have been shortlisted for the 2017 and 2020 Laugh Out Loud Awards respectively.

Get ready for the craziness to begin!

Tiger Heart by Penny Chrimes, published by Orion Children’s Books

Finding a girl squad that’s as unique and special as you are starts with finding YOURSELF.

Friendships are SO difficult to get right – and when rumours swirl or dramas unfold, your confidence vanishes and the worries start to take over.

 In this essential guide to friendship you’ll meet Poppy, who’s juggling all sorts of dilemmas at school. But whether it’s coping with feeling left out, handling bullies or embracing her true weird and wonderful self, friendship expert Dr Angharad Rudkin and author Ruth Fitzgerald are there to help with positive, practical advice. As you follow Poppy’s trials and tribulations, you’ll discover the secrets to finding your own ultimate girl squad – one which loves you for YOU.

Win 1 of 5 copies of Tiger Heart

The Boy Who Fooled the World, by Lisa Thompson, published by Scholastic

Cole’s family is struggling to make ends meet and he doesn’t fit in with the rich kids at his school. Until the day a painting Cole made in Art class is unexpectedly spotted and sold in a posh London gallery for thousands of pounds. Suddenly, he’s the toast of the international art world, invited on prime time chat shows, hailed as a boy genius! But Cole has been keeping a secret… he is not the creator of the painting; the white lie he told has spiraled out of control and his world will crumble when he’s exposed on live television. His family is plunged back into poverty, and there’s only one way out: Cole must crack the riddle of a mysterious painting that promises the clues hidden within it will lead the solver to great riches.

Roald Dahl Creative Writing with The Twits: Remarkable Reasons to Write, written by Roald Dahl and illustrated by Quentin Blake, published by Penguin Random House

Write interviews, play scripts, diary entries and instructions! Find your own remarkable reason to write with the Twits.

These fun activities and writing tasks help to develop language and vocabulary skills, giving you the tools you need to write your own story. Learn how to use persuasive language, entertain your reader and add sparkle to non-fiction.

Roald Dahl’s Creative Writing sparks creativity, builds confidence and inspires young writers through the wonderful worlds of these best-loved stories. Filled with top tips and ideas boxes, each book introduces techniques and methods to help you plan and write a phizz-whizzing story of your own!

Roald Dahl Creative Writing with Fantastic Mr Fox: How to Write a Marvellous Plot, written by Roald Dahl and illustrated by Quentin Blake, published by Penguin Random House

 Plan brilliant beginnings, magnificent middles and excellent endings! Structure the perfect plot with Fantastic Mr Fox.

These fun activities and writing tasks help to develop language and vocabulary skills, giving you the tools you need to write your own story. Learn how to use action scenes, perspective and tense to write an exciting story.

Roald Dahl’s Creative Writing sparks creativity, builds confidence and inspires young writers through the wonderful worlds of these best-loved stories. Filled with top tips and ideas boxes, each book introduces techniques and methods to help you plan and write a phizz-whizzing story of your own!

Roald Dahl Creative Writing with James and the Giant Peach: How to Write Phenomenal Poetry , written by Roald Dahl and illustrated by Quentin Blake, published by Penguin Random House

 Discover limericks, narrative poems, acrostics and haiku! Use poetic language with James and his insect friends.

These fun activities and writing tasks help to develop language and vocabulary skills, giving you the tools you need to write your own story. Learn how to write with rhythm and rhyme, and practise performing your very own poems.

Roald Dahl’s Creative Writing sparks creativity, builds confidence and inspires young writers through the wonderful worlds of these best-loved stories. Filled with top tips and ideas boxes, each book introduces techniques and methods to help you plan and write a phizz-whizzing story of your own!

What’s the Point of Maths?, published by DK

Incredible historical stories explore the often surprising origins of the maths we use today, from number sequences to coordinates. Crazy facts, magic tricks, and mathematical brainteasers will amuse and entertain even the most reluctant math students. Find out why an hour has 60 rather than 100 minutes and how codes keep our secrets safe. Colourful and uncluttered illustrations make mathematical explanations easy to grasp in seconds and make this user-friendly book simple to navigate and a joy to browse and read.

What’s the Point of Maths? is perfect for those who need some inspiration when it comes to numbers. It combines stories from history with simple visual explanations to bring maths to life. From measuring a pyramid to predicting comets, from counting like the Babylonians to becoming a trillionaire, it shows children why core maths ideas were discovered and invented and how to apply them today – in the classroom and the real world!

#WorldBookDay