Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

NEW BOOKS IN JANUARY, AGES 5-8

« Back

[Click here for new books for ages 0-5, 8-12 and 12+]

Too Small Tola by Atinuke and illustrated by Onyinye Iwu, published by Walker Books

Three delightful stories about Too Small Tola, a young girl who, though small, is very determined. Tola lives in a flat in Lagos with her sister, Moji, who is very clever; her brother, Dapo, who is very fast; and Grandmummy, who is very bossy. Tola proves to be stronger than she seems when she goes to market with Grandmummy and manages to carry home a basket full of yams and vegetables, chilli peppers and fish. When the taps in the flat don’t work, it’s Tola who brings water from the well, and it’s Tola who saves the day when Mr Abdul, the tailor, needs his goods to be delivered quickly. Too Small Tola is a wonderful new character in the world of children’s books by multi-award-winning children’s writer and storyteller Atinuke.

Super Cats v Maximus Fang by Gwyneth Rees, illustrated by Becka Moor and published by Bloomsbury.

Cats with superpowers! This brand-new series from bestselling author Gwyneth Rees is every young animal lover’s dream come true. Perfect for fans of Holly Webb, Alex T. Smith, and those who want their animal stories with a bit more action!

Now that Tagg and Sugarfoot have developed their superpowers, they are recruited for a special mission by Topaz Top Cat.

They’ve just heard that an evil supervillain is back in town and that can only mean one thing – he is going to break his partner in crime out of prison and finish one last devious job. The super cats have to stop them!

In order to get more information, Tagg and Sugarfoot will need to infiltrate Hamish’s infamous band of Hit Cats. They are going to need all their wits – and superpowers – about them this time!

Mr Dog and the Faraway Fox, by Ben Fogle and Steve Cole, illustrated by Nikolas Ilic, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

You can always count on Mr Dog to help an animal in trouble…

When Mr Dog takes a trip into town, he doesn’t expect to stay for long. But then he meets a fox who needs his help – a fox who’s very far from home…

Win 1 of 3 sets of Mr Dog books, ages 5-8

When Sadness Comes to Call, by Eva Eland, published by Andersen Press

When Sadness arrives, try not to be afraid: give it a name, listen to it and spend some time together. Maybe all it wants is to know that it’s welcome. This beautiful debut takes a poignant but uplifting look at dealing with uncomfortable emotions.

 

The Thing in the Basement, by Michaela Morgan, illustrated by Doffy Weir, published by Bloomsbury

A spooky school-set mystery from Michaela Morgan. Perfect for fans of Anne Fine and Pamela Butchart.

There’s a thing in the basement of Scott’s new school and it’s a thing only Mr Crawley can control. There’s a thing in the basement of Scott’s new school and it flashes and ROARS! There’s a thing in the basement of Scott’s new school and surely it can’t be a dragon… or can it?

This mysterious adventure is part of the Bloomsbury Readers series and comes with reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), making it perfect to get reading independently in Key Stage 2.

Agent Weasel and the Abominable Dr Snow by Nick East, published by Hodder Children’s Books

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he save the Big Freeze  winter games from disaster? And will there be enough marshmallows for  another hot chocolate? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together,  for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.

‘I always call Agent Weasel in a crisis! I love this brilliant, funny new series.’ Dermot O’Leary

It’s the opening night of the Winter Whopper Games, but all is not well in the United Woodlands. Top animal athletes are disappearing, and there are whispers of a silent snow beast on the prowl.

It’s time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. Can he and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins find out the secrets of Blanche, their mysterious team-mate? Will Weasel be able to compete for a golden fir cone without falling over his own feet? Will there be enough marshmallows and sprinkles for another hot chocolate? Who knows?

But rest assured: even on the darkest and snowiest of nights, Agent Weasel always gets his animal.

This is the second in the rib-ticklingly funny Agent Weasel series, with glorious illustrations throughout. Check out book one: Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang.

Peter Rabbit Movie 2 Novelisation, published by Penguin Random House

 Peter Rabbit is hopping back into cinemas in spring 2020. Featuring the same star-studded cast, including James Corden (the voice of Peter Rabbit), Domhnall Gleeson (Mr. McGregor) and Rose Byrne (McGregor’s animal loving neighbour, Bea).

This action-packed chapter book is based on the major new movie, so you can relive the best moments of the film.

Also look out for the Peter Rabbit Quiz Book, Peter Rabbit Sticker Activity book and the Peter Rabbit Colouring Sticker Activity book. Perfect for keeping younger Peter Rabbit fans busy for hours!

A Street Through Time, published by DK

Have you ever wondered what your street was like thousands of years ago? This illustrated history book for children takes you on a 12,000-year journey to find out the story of a single street.

Think of the street you live on. Now think of how it may have looked in the Stone Age in 10,000 BCE, or in Victorian times during the Industrial Revolution, or how it may look 50 years from now. A Street Through Time takes you on a time-travelling journey that you won’t forget. Highly detailed illustrations bring 15 key periods in time to life. You will see magnificent buildings go up and come down, new churches built on the site of ancient temples, wooden bridges destroyed and then remade in stone, and statues demolished then unearthed many years later. You’ll find out how people lived long ago – the tools they used, what they wore and what they did all day.

Revised and updated for a new generation, A Street Through Time now includes a look at the street 50 years in the future.

#WorldBookDay