Brain Freeze

« Back
Written by: Tom Fletcher
Illustrated by: Shane Devries

The End… I know that’s not how stories usually start. But my story is about time travel. And not everything happens in the right order… Izzy’s grandpa was an ice-cream man, and he used to tell the BEST stories. There was the one about giving a 99 Flake to a Pharaoh in Ancient Egypt – and another about feeding a Fab to a hungry T-Rex. But what if they weren’t just stories? What if that blue ice-cream van had a secret magic of its own? Intrigued? Then open this World Book Day book and prepare to get frozen in time…

Take a sneak peek inside:

What the Toppsta reviewers think:

‘This is a very funny book, and I love the idea of a time travelling ice cream van. The storyline is unique and witty, perfect for fans of David Walliams… every page was packed with action, humour and plenty of emotion. I loved it!’ – Edie May, age 10

‘Witty, humorous and a great read.  5 stars.’ – KCJo08, age 9

‘We really enjoyed reading this book together. It follows a little girl called Izzy who is a big fan of ice cream. Izzy loves it so much she has it every day without fail. However one night when the freezer brakes Izzy doesn’t know what to do and ends up finding her Grandad’s old ice cream van to help remind her of her Grandad and the ice creams they shared together. The book has a very imaginative and fun story. We especially liked the talking tummy and talking brain. There are some wonderful black and white illustrations dotted throughout and some lovely onomatopoeic words in big bold letters that spring out of different pages. The story is a little sad in places but has a wonderful concept. We would definitely recommend it.’ – Amy read to Noah, age 7

‘I think that most kids will love this book no matter what age or of they are a boy or girl. There are also some fantastic pictures to look at.’ – Belllboo, age 10

Read more reviews on www.toppsta.com

To get a free World Book Day 2018 in braille or on audio call the RNIB Helpline at 0303 123 9999 or email helpline@rnib.org.uk. If you would like to request a copy of a World Book Day 2018 title in large print, please call Guide Dogs on 0118 983 8275 or visit their website here.

    About the Author

    Tom Fletcher

    Tom Fletcher is one of the UK’s bestselling authors for children. He is the creator of The Christmasaurus, the biggest debut middle-grade novel of 2016 and The Creakers, his latest middle-grade novel. He is also one half of the duo behind the Dinosaur That Pooped picture-book series, which has sold over a million copies. His latest picture book is There’s A Monster in Your Book. Tom’s books have been translated into nineteen languages around the world (and counting).

    Twitter: @TomFletcher

    About the Illustrator

    Shane Devries

    Shane Devries is an illustrator from Adelaide, Australia. He began working as an architectural illustrator and has worked as a graphic designer and now creates visual development art for animation productions and illustrates books. Shane enjoys visiting art galleries, running and travelling and if possible he would spend countless hours gardening in his veggie patch.

    #WorldBookDay