I Have No Secrets

« Back
Written by: Penny Joelson

I have no secrets of my own.
I can’t do anything without someone knowing about it.
I can see, though, and I can hear, and sometimes people forget that.

Sometimes people talk about me as if I’m not there.
I hate that.

And sometimes people tell me their secrets.
Dan did.
And I can’t tell anyone.
I wish I could do something.

Jemma knows who did the murder. She knows because he told her. And she can’t tell anyone.

Fourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change…

A page-turning thriller seen through the eyes of a unique narrator, this is a truly original, heart-rending and compulsive book for young adult readers. Perfect for fans of WonderThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Looking for JJ.

    About the Author

    Penny Joelson

    Penny Joelson was born in London where she still lives with her husband and two children. She began working with disabled people when she was a teenager, which gave her inspiration for this novel and its insights. Penny runs ‘Creative Writing for Children’ workshops at City Lit and is currently working on her next novel.

    Twitter: @pennyjoelson 
    Website: www.pennyjoelson.co.uk

    #WorldBookDay