Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

Summer reads for teens

« Back

[Why not also check out our summer holiday reads for 0-55-8, and 8-12?]

Blood Moon by Lucy Cuthew, published by Walker Books

Blood Moon is an extraordinary YA novel in verse about the online shaming of a teenage girl. During astronomy-lover Frankie’s first sexual experience with the quiet and lovely Benjamin, she gets her period. It’s only blood, they agree. But soon a graphic meme goes viral, turning an innocent, intimate afternoon into something disgusting, mortifying and damaging. As the online shaming takes on a horrifying life of its own, Frankie begins to wonder: is her real life over?

Blood Moon is a punchy, vivid and funny story of first-time love, hormone-fuelled sexuality and intense female friendships – whilst addressing, head-on, the ongoing exploitation of young girls online and the horror of going viral. Both shocking and uplifting, it cuts to the heart of what it is to be a teenager today and shows the power of friendship to find joy in even the darkest skies.

Sea Witch Rising, by Sarah Henning, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

This sequel to THE SEA WITCH is an alternative reimagining of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid. A heart-wrenching story about the complications of sisterhood, the uncompromising nature of magic and the cost of redemption.

Dark Blue Rising, by Teri Terry, published by Hodder Children’s Books

Tabby lives a transient life with her mum Cate, never sticking in one place long enough to make friends.

Until one day, an accident changes everything. Cate is arrested and Tabby realises her life has been a lie: Cate is not her mother.

As she adjusts to her new life, Tabby finds herself drawn to the ocean – the only place she feels happy – and enrols at a swimming summer school to help her heal.

But all is not as it seems. She and her new friends are cut off from the outside world and she’s plagued by a repeating symbol of interlocking circles that follows her everywhere.

As Tabby begins to learn the truth about what the circles mean, and uncovers the terrible lies she’s been told about her past, a final twist awaits her – a secret hidden in her DNA…

Nick and Charlie, by Alice Oseman, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

A short novella based on the beloved characters from the graphic novel Heartstopper and Alice Oseman’s debut novel Solitaire, which was praised as ‘The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age’ by The Times.

Melt My Heart By Bethany Rutter, published by Macmillan Children’s Books

Melt My Heart is a hilarious and inspiring coming-of-age YA novel from Bethany Rutter: influencer, editor and a fierce UK voice in the debate around body positivity.

Lily Rose is used to people paying attention to her gorgeous twin sister, Daisy. But even though Lily loves her own fat body, she can’t shake the idea that no one would ever choose her over Daisy – not when they could have the thin twin.

That is, until she meets Cal, the gorgeous, sweet guy from New Zealand who can’t seem to stay away. The gorgeous, sweet guy who also happens to be Daisy’s summer crush.

Lily can’t seem to figure out why she isn’t as into him as she should be. She should be head-over-heels in love, not missing time at the ice-cream shack with her life-long best friend, Cassie. Not wondering what Cassie is getting up to with Cal’s friend Jack, or what she’s thinking about when they’re alone . . .

With University threatening to tear Cassie and Lily apart at the end of summer and Lily desperately trying to keep Cal a secret from Daisy, summer is set to be far from relaxing.

Loveless, by Alice Oseman, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

Loveless is the fourth novel from the phenomenally talented Alice Oseman, one of the most authentic and talked-about voices in contemporary YA. A wise, warm and witty story of identity and self-acceptance, and of realising that true love doesn’t have to be limited to romance.

SuperSimple Biology, published by DK

From reproduction to respiration and from enzymes to ecosystems, this guide makes complex topics easy to grasp at a glance. Perfect support for coursework, homework, and exam revision.

Each topic is fully illustrated to support the information, make the facts crystal clear, and bring the science to life. For key ideas, “How it works” and “Look closer” boxes explain the theory with the help of simple graphics. For revision, a handy “Key facts” box provides a simple summary you can check back on later.

With clear, concise coverage of all the core biology topics, Super Simple Biology is the perfect accessible guide to biology for children, supporting classwork, and making studying for exams the easiest it has ever been!

Every Little Piece of my Heart by Non Pratt, published by Walker Books

When Sophie receives a parcel from her best friend, Freya, she expects it to contain the reason why Freya left town so suddenly, without goodbyes and without explanation. Instead, she finds a letter addressed to Win, a girl Freya barely knew – or did she? As more letters arrive for more people on the periphery of Freya’s life, Sophie and Win begin to piece together who Freya was and why she left. Sometimes it’s not about who’s gone, but about who they leave behind…

Perfect for fans of Beautiful Broken Things and The Sun Is Also a Star.

#WorldBookDay
World Book Day is a charity funded by publishers and booksellers in the UK and Ireland.