Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

SUPER BOOKS FOR THE SUMMER HOLIDAYS FOR AGES 5-8

« Back

[Why not also check out our summer holiday reads for 0-5, 8-12 and 12+?]

Planet Omar: Incredible Rescue Mission by Zanib Mian published by Hodder Children’s Books

When Omar and his friends come back after the school holidays, their lovely teacher seems to have been replaced by somebody much more grumpy.

Overhearing other teachers talking about her, Omar decides something terrible has happened. Could she possibly have been abducted by … aliens?!

Omar persuades his friends to mount a rescue mission but what they find is very surprising!

Draw with Rob, by Rob Biddulph, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

The bestselling and award-winning author/illustrator Rob Biddulph is the genius behind the phenomenal, viral sensation that is DRAW WITH ROB! His original hit videos are available on Facebook, YouTube, TikTok and Instagram, as well as on www.robbiddulph.com, and have brought joy to families everywhere with easy-to-follow instructions and warm-hearted humour.

Whether you’re in home education, home-schooling, learning to draw, or just having fun, let Rob show you that anyone can learn to #DrawWithRob!

How to be a Maths Whizz, published by DK

With more than 30 activities and crafts that children can play their way through, this kids’ book takes the fear away from maths. Children will find out that being a mathematician isn’t just about scrawling numbers on a dusty chalkboard – it is part of our everyday lives!

How to be a Maths Whizz will teach kids to think like maths pros as they ask mathematical questions and get hands-on with key maths concepts. From calculation and place value, to time, shapes, and measurements, core curriculum maths topics are covered in creative and engaging ways.

This book invites you to investigate maths in a playful and hands-on way, using things from around your home: find out about 3D shapes by designing and building your own city, learn about measurement by growing your own plant, and uncover the mystery of coordinates through drawing your own treasure map. If you like solving problems, making things, and learning facts, then this is the book for you, mathematician!

Marshmallow Pie the Cat Superstar, by Clara Vulliamy, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books

A hilarious new series from Clara Vulliamy, creator of Dotty Detective, about grumpy cat Marshmallow Marmaduke Vanilla-Bean Sugar-Pie Fluffington-Fitz-Noodle and his reluctant pursuit of stardom. Perfect for fans of Toto the Ninja Cat and The Secret Life of Pets.

Investigators, by John Patrick Green, published by Macmillan Children’s Books

Mango and Brash are the InvestiGators: sewer-loving agents of S.U.I.T. and scourge of supervillains everywhere!

With their Very Exciting Spy Technology and their tried-and-true, toilet-based travel techniques, the InvestiGators are undercover and on the case! And on their first mission together, they have not one but two mysteries to solve!

Can Mango and Brash uncover the clues, crack their cases, and corral the crooks? Or will the criminals wriggle out of their grasp?

The Camping Trip written and illustrated by Jennifer K. Mann, published by Walker Books

My Aunt Jackie invited me to go camping with her and my cousin Samantha this weekend. I’ve never been camping before, but I know I will love it…

Ernestine is beyond excited to go camping. She follows the packing list carefully (new sleeping bag! new flashlight! special snack mix made with Dad!) so she knows she is ready when the weekend arrives. But she quickly realizes that nothing could have prepared her for how hard it is to set up a tent, never mind fall asleep in it, or that swimming in a lake means that there will be fish … eep! Will Ernestine be able to enjoy the wilderness, or will it prove to be a bit too far out of her comfort zone?

In an energetic illustrated story about a first sleepover under the stars, acclaimed author-illustrated Jennifer K. Mann reminds us that opening your mind to new experiences, no matter how challenging, can lead to great memories (and a newfound taste for marshmallows).

My First Cookbook by David Atherton and illustrated by Rachel Stubbs, published by Walker Books

From speedy suppers to delicious bakes, this classic collection contains a wealth of imaginative recipes that will inspire readers to tie their aprons and get going on their first food adventure! Packed with beautifully warm illustrations, fun and healthy recipes and easy-to-follow steps to help readers master basic cookery techniques and get inspired about food, this first cook book is an essential introduction to cookery that will be treasured by generations to come.

#WorldBookDay