Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

Reading Is Power: What's It All About?

We want to empower young people to talk passionately and confidently about the books that inspire them. Share the READING IS POWER MANIFESTO, created by young people with your students. Try writing your own as a class, year group or school to show what Reading is Power means to you. Download Manifesto

WORLD BOOK DAY SOCIAL – Wednesday 4th & Thursday 5th March

Head over to worldbookdaysocial.com to join in with our fun online festival for young people taking place on Wednesday 4th and Thursday 5th March. Over two days and evenings, we’ll be sharing fun and inspiring content and chat with bestselling authors and illustrators, all based around our theme of READING IS POWER.

Power Book: THIS MONTH'S PICK

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Saenz
recommended by Jason Gurley, author of Awake in the World

A book that had a big impact on Jason: I discovered Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by chance one day, browsing the shelves of my local bookstore, Powell’s. I was in the Pearl Room, looking for a particular book about pencils (I have a pencil fixation, I confess), and there, on the wrong shelf in the wrong room at the exact right moment, I found Benjamin Saenz’s novel, and I picked it up. I picked it up because the title is so long that it shouldn’t work, because the cover art is gorgeous, but I picked it up mostly because it was there and it asked me to. Sometimes a book finds you. I was delighted to find a magnificent novel between its covers, a beautiful story about two Mexican-American boys learning how to be friends, how to survive, how to be. It is a passionate, moving, often hilarious book, and more than that, a necessary one. Everyone should read this novel, preferably right now, this very second.  

View all of our previous YA Book Club picks here

About Jason:
Jason Gurley has worked as a creative director, an art director, a copywriter and a book cover designer. He lives with his family in Oregon. Awake in the World is his first YA novel.

About Awake in the World:
Vanessa has been reaching for the stars since she was a little girl, and is determined to get into her dream Ivy League university to study astronomy. Zach is a talented artist, but he’s not even thinking about college. He needs to stay home and support his family, working on the same oil rig where his dad was killed in an accident.

Their future looks poles apart… but then again, opposites attract.

A gorgeous romance about that special person who changes everything – perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon.

10 POWERFUL BOOKS TO TRY

Social Feeds

Twitter

2 hours ago
Time to announce our Share A Million Stories SIX FINAL WINNERS
Not one but TWO BUMPER book bundles worth £1,000 have been won by Beddington Infants' School, Wallington & The Murrayfield Nursery, Edinburgh. 📚🎉📚🎉 https://t.co/70Hx50lZRE
2 hours ago
THANK YOU for supporting Share a Million Stories!
We're excited to announce that you helped us to smash our target & shared an amazing 2,470,484 stories in schools, nurseries, homes, bookshops, libraries, prisons, football stadiums, theatres & online across the UK & Ireland. 🙌 https://t.co/MgD11WHGN4
3 days ago
Don't miss our Q&A with Robert Muchamore, best-selling author of the Cherub series, Arctic Zoom & Killer T, whose books have sold over 14 million copies worldwide. We asked him about sharing stories, his inspirations & how to create a thrilling mission.

https://t.co/wzhCxHQhg4 https://t.co/TosVMaY1qA

Watch all ReadioTV Episodes

ReadioTV is a book review show for young people, run by young people, where they discuss their favourite and most significant books. Watch recent episodes below and read our easy ‘How to’ guide to find out how you can create your own ReadioTV episode. 

#WorldBookDay