Information about our use of cookies

Our website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users and enhance your user experience. They also help us improve our site. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Learn more OK, I agree

Reading Is Power: What's It All About?

We want to empower young people to talk passionately and confidently about the books that inspire them. Share the READING IS POWER MANIFESTO, created by young people with your students. Try writing your own as a class, year group or school to show what Reading is Power means to you. Download Manifesto

READIOTV: HOW TO GET INVOLVED

Books have the power to bring people together. Students will be learning, sharing, motivating, challenging, creating and supporting each other while getting involved.  Find out how to create and upload your own ReadioTV episode. Download your How-to-Guide

READIOTV: UPLOAD YOUR EPISODE NOW

When your students have recorded their READIOTV episode, upload it to WeTransfer here and send it to [email protected] to be shared on the official READIOTV channel. Please ensure students have parental permission if needed.

Power Book: THIS MONTH'S PICK

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Saenz
recommended by Jason Gurley, author of Awake in the World

A book that had a big impact on Jason: I discovered Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by chance one day, browsing the shelves of my local bookstore, Powell’s. I was in the Pearl Room, looking for a particular book about pencils (I have a pencil fixation, I confess), and there, on the wrong shelf in the wrong room at the exact right moment, I found Benjamin Saenz’s novel, and I picked it up. I picked it up because the title is so long that it shouldn’t work, because the cover art is gorgeous, but I picked it up mostly because it was there and it asked me to. Sometimes a book finds you. I was delighted to find a magnificent novel between its covers, a beautiful story about two Mexican-American boys learning how to be friends, how to survive, how to be. It is a passionate, moving, often hilarious book, and more than that, a necessary one. Everyone should read this novel, preferably right now, this very second.  

View all of our previous YA Book Club picks here

About Jason:
Jason Gurley has worked as a creative director, an art director, a copywriter and a book cover designer. He lives with his family in Oregon. Awake in the World is his first YA novel.

About Awake in the World:
Vanessa has been reaching for the stars since she was a little girl, and is determined to get into her dream Ivy League university to study astronomy. Zach is a talented artist, but he’s not even thinking about college. He needs to stay home and support his family, working on the same oil rig where his dad was killed in an accident.

Their future looks poles apart… but then again, opposites attract.

A gorgeous romance about that special person who changes everything – perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon.

10 POWERFUL BOOKS TO TRY

Social Feeds

Twitter

20 hours ago
Darker evenings means more reading time! Here's our pick of the best new books for 8 - 12 year olds that are hitting your local bookshop in November. Which one will you being sharing? #ShareAStory

https://t.co/WDE1xewEWL https://t.co/7AHkgHGNFO
2 days ago
Do you know a pre-schooler who's learning how to count?
Then enter our Numberblocks competition and you could win 1 of 3 fabulous Numberblocks Wipe Clean activity books.
Entry closes tomorrow, Wed 20th, so get cracking & don't miss out. Good luck!

https://t.co/CCfjAimD39 https://t.co/bA4jYfklrb
3 days ago
Calling all young adventurers! The @book_tokens Book Island Challenge is back! Work out which famous book characters live on each of the seven islands in this fun online game & you could win one of fifty £10 National Book Tokens.

https://t.co/jTdgNrrY3J https://t.co/sf6QzcSymU

Watch all ReadioTV Episodes

ReadioTV is a book review show for young people, run by young people, where they discuss their favourite and most significant books. Watch recent episodes below and read our easy ‘How to’ guide to find out how you can create your own ReadioTV episode. 

#WorldBookDay